Poets logo

The Best Pet!

Mackenzie Davis’ Community Photo Prompt

By Angie the Archivist 📚🪶Published about a month ago 1 min read
14
By Donna Fox

I want a pet!

And I want it now!

Well, what do you want?

I dunno…

But I sure don’t want a cow!!

Why not?

A tiny calf is so cute to pat…

It’d give you lots of milkshakes…

How about that?

Na!

I just want a pet…

I’m starting to sweat!

Calm down…

Deep breaths…

Well… how about a puppy or a parrot or a koi?

Are you crazy?

You’re starting to annoy!

But puppies are so cute and cuddly…

A parrot’s so colourful and chatty…

Some golden koi might bring you prosperity…

I don’t care!

I want a pet…

And I want it now!

It has to be cute

But not a cow!

Well… maybe a frisky kitten…

What?

I don’t wanna get clawed and bitten!

Settle down!

You’re acting like a clown!

Remember our trip to the pet shop last week?

Yeah… as if I care!

Just listen…

My eye was caught by a pet so meek…

With an impish smile

She snoozed and dreamt…

She was fluffy with many a spiky quill…

Okay…

Sounds interesting… but still

What can she do?

She could go on adventures… swim… even climb a hill

A perfect match for one like you…

And when your hoglet’s done with it all

She can curl up tightly into a ball!

! !! ! !!! ! !!!! ! !!!!!

Author’s Note:

I’ve been wanting to write something for these abandoned photos from Mackenzie Davis’ Ekphrastic challenge a while back.

Inspired by: Donna Fox‘s and Natalie Wilkinson’s excellent photographs.

I’m curious to know the original tales behind Donna‘s and Natalie’s photos.

Taken by Natalie Wilkinson

humorFor Funfact or fictionEkphrasticfishexotic pets
14

About the Creator

Angie the Archivist 📚🪶

Addicted to reading… especially fiction and recently poetry.

Personality of a Labrador.

Attention span of a gnat! 🙃

A Parade Of Shoes: Top Story March 2024

"Look Out... Sauerkraut!": Top Story December 2023

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz13 days ago

    My son says his Hedgehog was the best pet he ever had. You paid a beautiful tribute to this cute little fellow.

  • Super cute! At first I said that to myself about the picutre. But after reading I can say the same about your piece too.

  • Joe O’Connor24 days ago

    I like how you got the koi in there Angie! “fluffy with many a spiky quill” is my favourite line. I think a hedgehog would make a great pet😄

  • TheSpinstress25 days ago

    This is really cute! Hedgehogs are adorable, although I'm not sure a pet that could stab me is better than one that could scratch me. 😁

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    One of my favorites of yours! I think you found your match in this pet!

  • D.K. Shepardabout a month ago

    Such a fun read! Formatting it as a conversation was an excellent choice! And so lyrical! Delightful, Angie!

  • Andy Pottsabout a month ago

    Enjoyed that. And, yes, we're very much at the "I want a pet" stage. Mermaid or unicorn would be the favourite :D

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Awww, Sonic!! 🥰🥰🥰 I was really looking forward to reading a story with this photo but somehow, it was forgotten. I'm just so happy you used it! Your poem was so cute and adorable, just like Sonic! I loved the way it rhymed too!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a month ago

    Ahhhhh!!!! Angie this was soooo sweet and cute!! I absolutely adore this poem and the whimsical nature of it!! Also, I died of happiness to see you using the picture of my Sonic!! 🥰🥰 Like literally yelled, that's my hog!! 🤣🤣 (May have rattled my husband in the process... 🤣🤣🤣🤣)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.