Poets logo

The Best Day

a haiku trilogy

By Judey Kalchik Published 2 months ago 1 min read
18
The Best Day
Photo by Matt Hoffman on Unsplash

The best day to write

was yesterday, but know

today is now here.

~

The best day to act

was yesterday, but still

today's a good choice.

~

Today's forgiveness

heals yourself, making way to

forgive others next.

~

Comments welcome.

Follow me for poems, articles, prompts, rants, stories, and more: it's free.

Haiku
18

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor2 months ago

    Dear Judey ~ At this stage the 'Best' day is everyday ~ btw; haven't seen you around: Are you BreakingUp with me? Who would blame you...! 'j'.in.l.a

  • Mother Combs2 months ago

    Very good advice, Judey. Lovely poems.

  • This is so SO true and extremely sound advice! Loved your sets of Haikus!

  • Denise E Lindquist2 months ago

    Great!! ❤️😊💕

  • Short, but sweet… ‘The best day to act was yesterday, but still today's a good choice.’ So true. Thanks Judey!

  • Test2 months ago

    Needed this in my heart today x Beautiful and very true 🤍

  • True, true, & ever so true. Excellent tri-partite haiku/senryu there, Judey.

  • sleepy drafts2 months ago

    Beautifully said. Every day we have a chance to do better than the next. 💗

  • Kelsey Clarey2 months ago

    Beautifully written! And a message I think I needed to hear today.

  • Nice Judey!!! I love this!!! I like the parts about forgiveness. So many people are not willing to forgive themselves. I know I've been there. I know that I am far from perfect and yes, I make the same mistakes over and over. But, does that make me a bad person? Definitely not... maybe a little dumb, maybe a little stubborn. But the important thing is I totally recognize this in myself and I take responsibility for my emotions and errs in life. I can give myself a break and tell myself that all is fine and move forward and be a functioning and happy person. I do not need to let others pull me down - despite how much some want to try and drag me through the mud - it ain't going to work because I have strong sense of self love. Those that are out there trying to publicly harm me or hurt me - well I say nice things about them in my mind and as hard as it is for me I forgive them in my mind - it doesn't matter if they forgive me or not because their own sense of security is at work within their own selves. But, for myself I will continue to chant or think good things on those that throw negativity toward me - even if they think I don't - I still do it.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Superbly written!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.