Poets logo

The Beauty of Winter

A Rhyme About a Frozen Pond

By Denise E LindquistPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
1
The Beauty of Winter
Photo by Bruce Christianson on Unsplash

Is this a rhyme about A frozen pond? The magic I can make when I take out my wand.

I point and say, “I wish to put it right here!” I am thinking, not too close, just near.

The purpose is clear, I wish to figure skate, Especially when out on a date.

And I want to fish, As it is so important that I bring a dish!

Then, I shall paint a picture of the frozen pond and winter to hang on the hall wall. Winter is so white and bright and beautiful and this frozen pond is the best of all.

Someone from another place will certainly ask about the cold? It would feel good today, the hot temperatures now are getting old.

I heard dress warm. Layers some say is the clue to no harm. Frostbite won’t happen if we are diligent. We needn’t be militant.

I suppose we could be but what is the sense in that? Living life for today is easy to say, and much more difficult to do I spat.

Why a silly fight or a quarrel would be needed here is a mystery to me, hehe. So, add a layer or two when the time comes if you would and we will all be good.

My mother said, “keep your feet and head covered and you won’t let any heat out of you!” Is that an old wives tale, or what? I ask that of who?

I happened to ask Quora and I hear it’s better to cover your hands and feet. Because we have hair on our head to help protect our heat.

What about my hubby that doesn’t have hair there? Or my son who has very little right there of hair?

What will go in my painting I place upon that space in my hall? Will it still look good as a picture in the summer, spring and fall?

I may have to paint one for each season of the year. I know that I can put some pictures up of some critters, near here, yes deer.

I took pictures of a few different critters in my time living up north. I must admit though that my photography is lacking, so I will leave that to others henceforth.

My drawing is not the best either, although I like it. Anytime you want to get a portrait done, just schedule a time to come and sit.

I must admit though my portraits aren’t the best, so it’s best I leave that to others, I guess. My talents lie in writing tales of truth and stories of both truth and fiction, and sometimes what a mess.

Back to the frozen pond as I can always circle back to what I was originally talking about. I have loved going out on the lake in the winter to fish, to spin around in my vehicle to shout.

The noise carries even in winter. It can be scary out there when there are cracks in the lake. Or the ice is just barely thick enough for your vehicle to be out there, sometimes looking like a snake.

Just remember to keep your windows down a bit when out there and remember that we get to live just one day at a time. And today is the day to shine.

Precautions are important to check with someone who knows the lake, and the depth of the ice and if there are any cracks. I remember taking a woman I worked with from out of town by the lake and she thought that was the reservation in those shacks.

That was many years ago now, as those ice houses don’t look much like shacks anymore. Some are looking more like Winnebago’s or other such nice looking campers on wheels that slide, glide and soar.

So let me out there this winter, with the grandchildren, to fish and slide around and try not to fall while having a ball. We can cook and eat some fish, we can slide around in the car, bring sleds and skates, but first there is fall, you all.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.