Poets logo

The baby she chose not to keep

Adoption Story

By Rai HallPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
My father and I

Fifteen with a lifetime ahead,

I imagine she cried as she lay in that bed.

The Salvation Army Catholic Home for unwed mothers, was where she was sent along with others.

Because I’m the BABY she chose not to keep.

I’m sure people judged her, shamed her, and shunned her, for her desire not to be a young mother.

Because I’m the BABY she chose not to keep.

Shipped off to give birth in a place all alone,

Amongst nuns and a priest; her temporary home.

Because I’m the BABY she chose not to keep.

The day came when she must leave, a great family would take me... she had to believe.

Because I’m the BABY she chose not to keep.

A short time later heading towards fall,

The life of a young couple would change with a call.

Because I’m the BABY she chose not to keep.

I was given a family and loving home, them a child they’d call their own.

Because I’m the baby she chose not to keep.

Grateful I am for a life of love and two great parents that went beyond and above.

Because I’m the BABY she chose not to keep.

I made a young couple’s family complete!

-Rai Lyn Applebee

Born August 30, 1971

Adopted September 30, 1971

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.