Poets logo

The Afterglow

A poem, written especially for ✨you✨.

By Gina C.Published 12 months ago Updated 11 months ago 5 min read
42
Image created with Midjourney

Dear Unfinished Story,

I know

the weather deep within you is

[relentless now]] and stormy...

and with

the onset of disaster coming faster, and

a plot that you can't seem to catch (but that)

you still go chasing after...

I know you wonder if there's any laughter in

{your allegory now}.

Now that all the lights have dimmed...

and the dragons in your mind will not

allow…

the celebratory joy within your soul

(to keep) igniting.

How on Earth -

in dwindled lighting -

will you keep on finding all

(the strength) to grow?

What will happen to your story now -

without all the glory of

the show?

How will you keep on fighting in the shadows and

the dissipated afterglow?

*

I know

the way we started won the hearts of many.

Our prologue and our opening line revealed

an epiphany

of brilliancy

that we -

resilient we -

had written in the stars…

a connection sealed so well it

[made us ready]

to take on countless measures of

adversity

and to play half-lucky cards.

*

And with scarred hearts and >>hands we<<

kept the pages turning.

We were characters -

[[spectacular]]

that kept their fire burning through

the night…

we were never gods but we

gained worshippers

who shared our prayers that we {{were fairytales}} -

believing we would always somehow be

*alright*.

*

But the setting came and changed the lighting.

Whoever was the author, changed

the writing…

and as your chapters flowed

we had no way

(there was no way)

to contemplate or know…

that after all our many trials

we would reach the top, then

fail to flourish despite smiles (in)

the dying afterglow.

*

And after all our chasing (of)

the swallows...

I know my aspirations became watered down and

hollow…

(I was followed by)

the demons of my idle thoughts and haunted by

their daughters in the shadows -

picked apart and distraught in the

tidal-wave brought shallows…

nothing but an afterthought, oh

how on Earth were we

to know?

That after everything and all

[that we had] fought for…

we’d get one night (where they would)

solemnize our honor,

and the moment that we’d lived for would then row…

into the sunset - soon forgotten -

only often re-emerging in

the turning of our dreams,

though here on Earth their hearts had long since tip-toed from

the theme,

how were we (to ever)

know that we’d be left after the show,

remembering and forever

treasuring all

the many spotlight beams -

our embers slowly fading (in the)

icy gleams and snow,

our voices lost and breaking in

the void that is *the waning afterglow*?

*

And through so many lows I do

remember how we battled through

the conflict…

each and every time our novel threw

another problem or a plot twist…

we would somehow always redefine

[the surface]

for our purpose

was an ever-glowing light...

(and in that light)

there was not a damn thing that

could hurt us [*we were stars*]…

but here we are now

(we are here now)

after all

the clout and magic’s gone…

what will happen

to our meaning

and now that all our limelight’s leaving,

how will we ever carry on?

*

And the song that they put on to play for us -

that night we finally held the

*celebration* of our dreams…

will forever be

the song I trust

to *in my mind*

retrieve that elevated scene...

of you and I -

*the way we danced*

and for a moment made it seem

that we were almost {{truly Queens}}…

of all the universe

(and our destiny) and all the

space that lies *inexplicably between*.

How will we ever reach that high again?

How can we

recreate the scene…

of our long-awaited climax set

amid the breeze and lilacs where

the river met the sun in sparkling, serene streams?

*

For scenes, like Seasons, Love,

are susceptible to turning…

and somewhere in the

*midst of all* our learning,

(I think)

we may have blurred the lines…

and forgotten we *are complex beings*

who need to rise and fall with time.

*

And though songs with chimes will always

represent us, (for)

our quest was well-developed and had

all the elements that make

a story grip one’s soul…

it’s lacked a resolution

and our *only hope* is evolution

(if we are ever)

to be whole….

and I know there is a silver lining

if we can just survive this

darkest dark of timing,

for the conclusion to our tale has

yet to show…

and we can still adjust the ending

even though we’ve suffered

change of setting;

we can be stepping into our

new episode with *love and light*

that brings new life

[into] the *afterglow*.

*

And I know and I’ve decided

that

our *place here* is

to once again inspire

even if from ashes

(all these ashes)

we must somehow

[re-create our] long extinguished fire.

For though the

lights have shifted and

our hearts and hands have drifted so

we hardly reach the glow…

what will be, will be…

(and so),

and so,

and so…

this is our brand new place now -

for

somehow *from all the shadows*

~vines of ivy~ always seem

to grow.

*

And Little Aster, you

can sparkle from disaster, you

can blossom in the faded light and afterglow,

I will keep the pages turning, I

will keep that need to conquer (in you) burning, though

what will happen - I don't know -

but just because I may not be

{{your Happy Ever After...}}

living in the afterglow does not have to mean that

all your dreams are put to pasture, you

are more resilient than you know...

your story comes from deep within you (even) after this

transition -

the more you live,

the more you'll learn your truth - you will not fantasize the fiction, (and)

you'll grow...

a fitting Ever After, (and)

you once again ✨will glow✨.

Love,

Your Unwritten Chapter

*

-Gina C. 🧚‍♀️✨

***

Author's note: This poem was written for the Epistolary Challenge. :)

This poem is part of my Signature collection, which is rich in rhyme, very lyrical, quite expansive, and often full of notable, magical elements. If you are interested in reading more poems from this collection, try this one:

Thank you so much for reading! ☺️

I'd be over the moon if we could support each other! I am an active member on the Vocal Discord Server, as well as the Vocal + Assist, Great Incantations, The Vocal Social Society, The Vocal Creators Lounge, and The Medium Writers and Vocal Creators Support Facebook groups. Posting your work there is the best way for me to support you! :) ❤️

inspirational
42

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme☺️

Fueled by a conflicted soul of fire & water

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (32)

Sign in to comment
  • Joelle E🌙11 months ago

    I love your formatting and flow!!

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    The way you invite the format, punctuation, and limited font styling available in the platform to dance through your work is inspiring!

  • Komal12 months ago

    This was such a great read. I am new here and discovering amazing writers. Thank you!

  • Aphotic12 months ago

    This is relatable and so eloquently written. Very nicely done!

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    This is gorgeous, Gina! It's not just written, it's crafted.

  • Fading dreams, hopes & expectations greet the dawn & are renewed.

  • Fabulous job...it was waiting there, all along

  • Caroline Jane12 months ago

    This is epic in all sorts of ways. Length, lyricism, detail, flow, sincerity... and all about something unfinished! Wow. Impressive!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Very powerful poem 🫶🏽

  • R. J. Raniabout a year ago

    Thank you for this powerful metaphor, dear Gina - one in which I find my own struggles as a writer reflected, like so many others have said in the comments. I really admire the way you weave the visual and emotive together - both physically and emotionally 🤗 Beautifully done, Gina!

  • Cendrine Marrouatabout a year ago

    Gina, what an excellent and thought-provoking poem! I really enjoyed it, especially your use of punctuation. As an author, I can totally relate to the message. The beauty of it is that every person who reads it will have a different idea of the way it should end. Thank you!

  • Love your words and the pure form of this, a stylish ride through words and ideas

  • Aspirational, inspirational, motivational, promissorial. The yearning of my heart resonates with all that you say here, Gina, but the calling of my soul understands it is not to be. Oh, I want to be the star, to be applauded & widely acclaimed. But I never do well, at least not for others, when I am in the limelight. I love the spotlight, yet seem forever to be messing up within its glare. What I do best, when I do best, tends to be behind the scenes, vital yet going unnoticed. Lifting up the broken, encouraging the brokenhearted, lifting up the hope & promise of others & shining the spot on them--this feels right & helpful & good. There is a part of me that resents not being the star of my own story. It wounds me deeply, until my gaze turns to those who for whom I have played some small part in lifting up. Then, even as I evanesce, I am content.

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Stunningly in discussing that emotional roll coaster of trying to finish a story. I have several that are waiting and it almost like you have a friend waiting for you and you can't help them just yet. Your poetry is beautiful. I love how different words are highlighted as if it was a hand written letter. I really love this Epistolary poem hope it places. 💜

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I have sorely missed reading your brilliant poetry. Each one is unique, and as epic as it is beautifully worded. I felt every line of this one. You held me captive from beginning to end, pouring out my very thoughts onto the screen. In love with what you've done here. So much talent, my friend!!!

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    Phenomenal! I love your perfect metaphors, "half-lucky cards" -- I want to write like Gina when I grow up.

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    This was amazing Gina! I’ve reread this three times now and found new meanings and new lines I love each time. You have an incredible voice in your poetry

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Absolutely beautiful.

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Gina, this poem is Beautiful, deeply heartfelt, and so relatable. “ And I know and I’ve decided that our *place here* is to once again inspire… even if from ashes” There are So many layers here: writing, relationships, life. Remember an afterglow is a spark that reignites hot blazing fires. The queen just has to gently push her gentle breathes into the embers. 🥰

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    Highly stylish! I read it aloud much like the lyrics to a popular song. The rhyming and rhythm is exquisite! Now we know why it took so long! (No rhyme intended here). ;) 😊✨📖

  • Emily Binkleyabout a year ago

    So nicely written 💕

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Wow!!!Loved it!!!💕💖

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    Captivating lines and such an original style! Brilliant work, Gina!

  • Brannan K.about a year ago

    This was FUN to read. It was lyrical and the meaning on top of it all made it excellent!

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Oh I need to read this again and again just to submerge myself in your words. Your poems are always such a lyrical and visual treat. Beautifully done and may this place highly in the Challenge 🙏

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.