Poets logo

Tangerine

A sensory poem. 🍊

By Gina C.Published about a year ago Updated 12 months ago 4 min read
40
Image created with Midjourney

Tender Tangerine, you

- are roughly in between -

a supple texture and a denser, porous thing,

you're

cool as autumn in

my palm, your

skin is lip-balm smooth, like

baby cheeks and iPhone screens, you're

a weighted ball - so small - of water...

avoirdupois you are, un-altered (if)

I somehow can resist

your carapace - so crisp -

and do not intervene.

*

Pretty, vivid thing,

Oh -

charming Tangerine,

a bit of summer color (you do bring) to my

{{winter}}, as

I observe the orangeness of your hue.

You look so lovely in my kitchen

and against my olive skin (as I)

admire the bright fire you are given, and

that you stream into my room.

Darling Tangerine,

you look just like an orange's younger cousin, or

her son...

you may be filled with liquid, but

you are an apparition | a true vision of the sun...

(just before it sets) -

you are a perfect orb of daylight at its best,

set...

divinely in the crevice of my hand;

oh, the admiration you demand -

gorgeous Tangerine,

you sure are a joyous, rounded thing -

(if I don't devour you, of course), *if*

I do not intervene.

*

Silent Tangerine,

you

do not say a thing, but

if I listen closely, I

can almost hear my body sing, (as)

your soundless essence sweetly brings

{{the promise of}} nutrition.

And if I cup my ear,

(I swear that I)

can almost hear the words you whispered to

the clearness of the brisk and rigid air

when you were merely

coming to fruition, just

for me...

(on your winter tree)...

and now, somehow, you speak to me, for

I am hungry (and) so keen

that deep inside me rings a jingling

tambourine -

calling out to you and begging

to convene;

Oh,

quiet Tangerine...

you'll stay a silent, muted thing

(but only if I don't consume you, *if*)

I do not intervene.

*

Fragrant Tangerine,

your scent is truly like

a dream,

so much so, they bottle you into the finest

potions and perfumes.

Your scent is *magic*, it's

emotion...

a time machine that brings me back (to when)

I was just a child (by)

the ocean...

[[they say that scent is the most powerful]]

sense, --and yours--

is slightly flowerful, with

{{with weightlessness}} and notes of

zest,

and light,

and freshness interwoven...

and if the sea could be a fruit (somehow)

I think it's you it would have chosen;

{{crisp and bright}}, with hints of green...

an aroma (with a notion) of

the spring...

and as I peel you open,

waves of joy and happiness

you bring

(to my olfactory organs), and

I can't help but intervene -

I break your skin and

my whole mouth is watering;

all your architecture, I...

[[have altered]];

I peel down all your fleshy armor, and

inhale the fragrant water of

your plushy, little toes... (wrapped up just like)

a single, budded rose...

every part of you,

just for me and so exposed -

into a star... oh -

into a star you have transposed -

all your little wedges pulled apart...

and my senses come together [[intertwined]]

a work of art,

as your presence and your essence fill

my mind and heart with dreams...

(just like my words here are now)

dancing, wandering -

(no longer staying strictly tied)

to descriptions of your scent...I'm

reminiscing of the times (together)

we have spent;

and as my palette becomes wetter, my

core (to you), it sings -

a song of hunger, festering...

and Oh, Tangerine,

there is a special name just for your fragrance, it

{{is citrus}}; and

my thoughts of you are full of richness, and

I'm struck by the exquisite nature of your scent...

(and I can't help it, I repent)

I feel that I...

I feel that I must intervene.

*

Delicious Tangerine,

sweet you are --like honey-- as

your nectar runs right down

my chin my neck my hands [[and stains]]

my jeans;

yet slightly tart with --with darts--

that stun me, as

my tastebuds rocket off into

abyss that's tasted, (yet)

unseen.

Drip, drip, drip (you drizzle)

down my lips and fingertips...

exploding in my mouth (I feel)

I'm overtaken with pure bliss.

Tangerine, Tangerine,

I embrace you with my tongue (and all)

my famished senses scream;

deep within my temple, I

can feel I'm re-assembled, as

you level all

the streams within me that

once bounced upon a rocking trampoline;

sugary [you are]

like confection (almost) candy...

though refreshing, cooling, soothing

-natural- (nothing) {{fancy}}.

Oh, Tangerine...

if a fruit could be supreme (I think)

that would be just what

you are...

velveteen that bursts against

my teeth and mouth's small arc...

[[sensory epistle]]

orangesicle dream...

Oh, delicious Tangerine

I could not resist you, I

could not help but intervene.

*

-Gina C. 🧚‍♀️✨

***

Author's note: This poem was written for the Sensational Challenge. :)

This poem is part of my Signature collection, which is rich in rhyme, very lyrical, quite expansive, and often full of notable, magical elements. If you are interested in reading more poems from this collection, try this one:

Thank you so much for reading! ☺️

I'd be over the moon if we could support each other! I am an active member on the Vocal Discord Server, as well as the Vocal + Assist, Great Incantations, The Vocal Social Society, The Vocal Creators Lounge, and The Medium Writers and Vocal Creators Support Facebook groups. Posting your work there is the best way for me to support you! :) ❤️

nature poetrylove poems
40

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme

Follow my Ghosts of Relationships' Past series:)

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (25)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor2 months ago

    Hi Gc ~ Your stories are always relateable to me. As I fight off the Squirrels and other critters taking bites from our Tangerine-Tree. I know you are working on many projects. When you have a moment may I introduce you to my Brother featured in my reach-back "Twins"....you may relate. j.in.l.a.

  • sleepy drafts12 months ago

    Gorgeous! Your descriptions are so gripping and vivid. This poem absolutely nailed the challenge. My senses were engaged! 😍🧡

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Wow, this was wonderful and so sweet! I found myself singing it as I read. A beautiful tribute to a very deserving little treat. I have one in my fridge so I'm off to enjoy as I read again. Great work, Gina! Your poetry is magical.

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    An endearing ode indeed! That was a joy to read!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Brilliant 🌹❤️

  • Amazing piece❤️

  • Aphoticabout a year ago

    This was gorgeous. I’m convinced you can craft a beautiful poem about anything. Well done!

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Very nicely written. I'm seeing vivid sunny orange hues as I read this.

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    Gina, this is fabulous! Your words just dripped like sweet nectar. Nicely done, my friend!

  • C. Rommial Butlerabout a year ago

    We cannot have our tangerine and eat it too...

  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    I love "plushy little toes" - the best way to describe those segments 😁 My friends little lad used to LOVE tangerines. She'd separate it into segments for him and put them n his tray and he'd hoover them all up in seconds! 😁

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Woe. That was fantastic. And now I want one. Excellent work, my friend.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Lovely, absolutely fabulous!!!💖💖💕

  • Testabout a year ago

    Goodness that was like breathing. So natural, the formatting is as much of a work of art as the words. I also need a tangerine now. Really well done.

  • Summer, winter. Fire, stream. Sun, liquid. Light, ocean. Honey, jeans. Instead of focusing on the senses you were highlighting and describing with such beautiful vocabulary, my brain focuses on the theme of fire & water, and red & blue 😅 I cannot stop myself once I've started eating tangerines and your poem was sooooo relatable and extremely beautifully written!

  • Are there any who can help but intervene when it comes to the lovely, the sensuous, the singular tangerine?

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    An absolute work of art. Well done!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Everything you write is so beautiful, but this is especially close to my heart because my five year old loves tangerines or as she calls them baby oranges and every line of this poem reminded me of her eating them and made me smile. Thank you for this gift Gina

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Ohhh what an absolute work of art! You should win 🏅

  • Mohammed Darasiabout a year ago

    That's a great poem. Dissecting this short moment in time from touching to eating the tangerine, and using the 5 senses to describe the experience.. really well done! I love tangerines as well.. but maybe not as much as you 🤣

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Omg I gotta run to the store. I didn’t think I needed a tangerine but I sure do now!! ❤️👏❤️

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    This was magical!! And I cannot resist the scent of citrus. I love oranges and lemons and limes, but rarely get tangerines. Now I'll have to. How you come up with these gorgeous magical works of art, I've no idea. Fabulous!!

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    WOW!!!!!! This was supercute & so creative! I absolutely loved it! Very well done!😁

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Very clever, and exquisite. Your hard word on this is obvious and such a delicious treat to our imaginations

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    A beyond sweet luscious poem. Literally. Expect a protest from the Tangerines All Matter Society (TAMS) 🥰😎😂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.