Poets logo

That Voice

a deep resonating sound

By Amanda McGuirePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
That Voice
Photo by Lucas Ludwig on Unsplash

As I laid there thinking of you, of the events of my day, of where my life has led, I slowly began to drift off to sleep. My eyes closed, my breath deepened. I had found that perfect spot of comfort on my bed, the pillow in just the right spot.

I felt calm, resolved knowing I was in a good place, for once anxiety and overthinking did not cloud my thoughts, keeping me awake and restless.

Just as I welcomed sleep to rest my tired body, a voice startled me awake. So loud it was as if it came from someone in the room with me. Which was impossible, as I laid there alone.

A deep booming voice, manly and sure, not shouting, but definitely an edge of frustration. My whole body jolted awake as if from a dream where you are falling. The sound so loud I sat upright in my bed, at first searching for the source.

Remembering I was alone, I laid my head back on the pillow and instead wondered who the voice belonged to. The words hung in the air like smoke above me, the sound reverberating in my ears.

You said, "I love you!" It was said as if trying to tell someone who was being thickheaded to believe something.

The last time I was jolted awake by a voice, was my own inner voice screaming at me, "get out!" My very instincts trying to save me from a bad situation.

I listened to that voice and followed those words then. As I laid there I couldn't help but wonder if I should listen again, but found it strange that this voice was so very different, again wondering where it came from.

I am left haunted, and each night as I drift off to sleep a part of me is hopeful to be awakened again.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Amanda McGuire

Just a girl writing for fun… With a passion for helping others and striving to always be my most authentic self.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.