Poets logo

Thank you

For all you gave

By Esther AmiPublished about a year ago 2 min read
4
Thank you
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

No, it felt like nothing I had dreamed of

This wasn't how it was supposed to be

I thought I'd be happy

Imagined this would be safe for me

Enough to let go and be free

Escape the harsh realities of my life

You had to be my place to land

At least, I thought you'd be

I'm back where it all began

Me feeling afraid and you willing to help

You could have told me

Made me understand what I'd be signing up for

Maybe you thought this would be different

That I'd finally find the rest my heart needed

I believe you believed you could be

The one who made it all worth it

My North star

Thank you for what would have been

Thank you for what was

Thank you for what I deserved

You gave my soul peace

I rested truly in your arms

I have known comfort by your side

I have been loved and have loved

I have truly lived all because of you

So I'll go on holding these memories

I'll treasure all you promised

What you showed and keep them safe

We came this close to having it all

I enjoyed the time spent with you

If I could, knowing what I know now

I'd do it all over again

I live with the consequences

I have no regrets

How can a person miss what they never had?

It's how I feel because you gave me a future that felt so real

We lived in the possibility of what should have been

We enjoyed the realities of what was and what we made of the time we had

I'm taking these with me, my sacred memories

They're what keep me going

My assurance of all that is possible

Until you return, till you come home

I'll keep these dreams alive

We'll have our happily ever after

You are for me

What life's all about

A chance to truly live

You're my reason for living

I love to live because of you

love poems
4

About the Creator

Esther Ami

Words are powerful and it matters how we use them. I use my words to build and impact, I use my words to lift and inspire. I am a words-person, I love words.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    Nice piece❤️

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    If I could hug you through this phone, I would. Treasure the memories and use them to fly to greater heights. ❤'d and subscribed.

  • I have been through this too, wonderful words

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.