Poets logo

Till we meet again

The story ends here

By Esther AmiPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Till we meet again
Photo by Mantas Hesthaven on Unsplash

Call me friend but keep me close

Hide me away when everyone’s near

Push back the memories

It was never your story anyway

I let you have your way

Rode this out

Make no mistake, we both did

I wanted this but so did you

So let’s quit trying to keep

This chapter open

It was never going to be

Our happy ever after

This was never your spot

I could have made this easy

We both deserved better

To not feel like this in the end

I’ll let you in on a secret

I never could have held on to the future;

The life you had planned for us

Was doomed to fail anyways

Fate knew it and we only but realized that

Our story would never be told

We were never to be featured

In each other’s lives; not like this

So while we still have time

While the story’s still been told

Let’s close the chapter

Cast each other out of this movie

There isn’t going to be an end anyway

Why drag on what would never be?

I’m walking away and maybe you should too

Don’t look back, I won’t hold it against you

It’s better this way, let’s leave while we still feel

Some peace and love in the moment

It would hurt to see us broken in the end

Maybe we’ll be spared the pain of having lost

What we never should have had

I bid you adieu

My fair friend

Till we meet again, never

Cross the bridge to the other side

You’re free

love poemssad poetryheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Esther Ami

Words are powerful and it matters how we use them. I use my words to build and impact, I use my words to lift and inspire. I am a words-person, I love words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.