Poets logo

Tell me about that story you hate to hear

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 8 days ago 1 min read
Tell me about that story you hate to hear
Photo by Ariel on Unsplash

“I don’t think we should be friends.”

“Why?”

“You’re not good for me. The way you acted after, defending yourself, feels toxic.”

“I wanted you to know some small glimmer of positivity in my life. How is that so bad?”

“You should’ve waited to tell me when my life is going better.”

“What if that’s in several weeks? Or months? I thought good friends told each other everything. Good and bad and in between.”

“Yes. You wait to tell me your good news until I feel better.”

“What if things aren’t good in weeks? Months? You’re ok with me just keeping in everything until everything passes? Sometimes life is bad and sometimes it’s not. But, I wasn’t bragging, I wasn’t trying to make you feel bad. I just thought it was a matter you’d appreciate.”

“You don’t laugh at someone’s funeral. Do you?”

“Getting a job is not a funeral. If someone important in your life died, that’s different. Of course the way I would handle our conversation would be different in that cir-”

“It’s not getting a job. It is my life. My whole life is changed. You have someone to pay your bills. I don’t.”

‘You know that I have had tremendous experience with financial abuse, physical and emotional. Yet you throw it in my face that you think my life is somehow better. I’ve told you of my past and very present issues. I just wanted a small moment of recognition for a small joy.’

I don’t say that, though.

Days of lingering silence as I doubt my ability to understand what happened.

“We’re not good for each other. I still think we should be apart.”

Friendship

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • C. Rommial Butler7 days ago

    Well-wrought. Ultimately, I've always had a problem with people telling me I make them feel... anything. I understand this is shorthand for "I would prefer that you communicate with me thus" but had I the ability to make abyone feel anything, everyone would be endlessly and stupidly happy and so would I! But life, it seems, has different plans, and reality is ultimately real. I choose to love that and leave others to their own choices. What else can we do? This dialogue here seems surreal, but I've experienced something like it more than I'd prefer to recall... again, well-wrought!

  • Gosh, this hit me so hard. Did this happen to you? I'm so sorry if it did 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

Melissa IngoldsbyWritten by Melissa Ingoldsby

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.