Poets logo

The secret waterfall

-

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 13 days ago 1 min read
The secret waterfall
Photo by Almos Bechtold on Unsplash

lately, I haven’t been feeling like talking much

I am usually beyond myself as I extrapolate my emotions into a more coherent genre of socialization

I stand by in the sidelines, I echo the sentiments of others in silence

As I wallow in my fear, of the longer days that creep into my head like a ghostly firefly with a broken light

I remember the day of the chili cook off, in that backwards piece of beautiful country

The chicken chili was my favorite

I had never had that before

I didn’t think chicken could go in chili

But I found out

In the end of the last breath of afternoon’s music

A secret waterfall

That I recall in my wallflower moments in summer,

How all the kids were playing in the creek, the greenery, the edge of the forest with the leaking water that rained down like a crying wolf

how I longed to meet the fairy in my waking dreams

A mess of fairies to haunt my mind

I recall the waterfall

I’m dazzled in dizzy spells, to have

Mischief to become my own hero

As I fell,

I don’t feel like myself now

The secret waterfall that calls to me,

Where is that stardust dreamer, I dread to believe in

the kafkaesque brutality of my wallflower painting

I tend to use my flowery heart to add in details

I saw her, the little bit of dreamscape, yes I did

In between the rocks and the stars and the sun

The new alien from a majestic space

She wipes the dust from the earth

She saw me, I saw her

But we said nothing out loud

As the world spun away from our crowded hearts

I don’t feel much like talking nowadays

Not much at all.

———-

Check out my friend Julie’s newest book Air Fairies: The Training Begins (The Aeolian Tales Book 1) on Amazon. It’s a great read for young adults and teens! The emotions she brings and world weaving is truly amazing 🤩 this piece was inspired by her work!

art

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • C. Rommial Butler12 days ago

    The wallflower has the consolation of observing events within which others perish. Who is the observer: the one who senses, the one who thinks, or the one beyond the machinery of body and mind? Well-wrought!

  • Whoaaa, this was so deep and emotional! Remember the story I said I'm working on? I only made Kafkaesque it's title but decided against it, lol. Loved your poem so much!

  • Babs Iverson13 days ago

    Melissa, this was fabulous!!! Love it!!!❤️❤️💕

Melissa IngoldsbyWritten by Melissa Ingoldsby

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.