Poets logo

Teenage Journals

(Dried blood)

By Joshua HessPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Years have trampled over years

Violently confusing

Like riots on television screens

Bruised and make up covered

At best

dusty memories

Stomped upon one another

In no order of importance

Broken hearted artifacts

Truths twisted like complicated stories

I just can’t stomach to finish

Yet alone pretend to read

Dried Blood

on the sun stained pages

of my teenage Journals

now stacked

And stuck together

Courtesy of

many summers taking turns

competitive of one another

With the dramatic battles reminiscent of

Childhood

unforgiving humidity

In a storage I pay for

But just won’t visit anymore

I write because no one has ever listened

I scream with the gentle push of a pen

These days it feels so much better than

Cutting my confused skin

Born with the softness of a feather

Now just leather

My favorite phantom

Ive loved you

So carelessly

With a reckless abandon

And by doing so

I only ever abandoned me

Loving every demon

Paying every fee

Left lonely and in debt

Sleeping unsoundly with the memories

Shattering like hyperbole

Impossible to forget

Toss and turn

Toss and turn

While my religious guilt grows

Beyond my dreams

I write because no one

Has ever listened to me

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Joshua Hess

I live a life often unbelievable. From the countless tragedies & triumphs to the chances I've taken & have been given, I'm still alive to write about them all, always sharing in the hopes of helping others and healing myself along the way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Ashley Arndtabout a year ago

    I can definitely relate to the writing because no one ever listened

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.