Poets logo

Lucky Charms Bellyache

Magically Delicious

By Joshua HessPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
2

Like the forbidden fruit roll up

I was unlucky in my love

For lucky charms

My most cherished childhood snack

Wasn't allowed in our house

No leprechaun would sneak

This sweet delicious

Marshmallow delight

Into our kitchen overnight

As I dreamed of blue moons

Unicorns and sweet red balloons

In my cereal bowl

Full of that warm leftover marshmallow milk

However

Nothing would ever get in my way

Once I longed for that sure to be had

bellyache

So over the river and through the woods

To grandmothers house I'd go

After a warm hug

And A quick lock of our arms

We'd walk into the kitchen

Where she'd make me a bowl of lucky charms

I felt so rebellious with each and every bite

It was as if those sugary four leaf clovers

Granted my wishes I placed upon

Those bright yellow stars

It's a secret my grandmother and I

Have kept to this day

I still think of her during every

lucky charms bellyache

childrens poetry
2

About the Creator

Joshua Hess

I live a life often unbelievable. From the countless tragedies & triumphs to the chances I've taken & have been given, I'm still alive to write about them all, always sharing in the hopes of helping others and healing myself along the way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher about a month ago

    I love the innocence and charm in this poem. You did such a great job with it I also loved Lucky Charms when I was a kid. It was one of my favorites. I subscribed to you so that way I will be notified whenever you publish something new.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.