Poets logo

Unabashedly Living Loudly

Abecedarian Challenge

By Joshua HessPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
1

Actually it shouldn't be too hard for me to

Believe the way I've still not recovered from

Childhood trauma beginning at the age of three

Divorce of my parents left me all alone

Easily allowing abandonment issues to

Find me then stalk me as an adult

Go easy on me please while im still learning to

Heal my saddened lost and lonely

Inner child as he still cries tho he'd rather be

Joking around with everyone

Kindly and candidly

Let me dig even deeper now and dive into

My teenage years when all

Naivety disappeared only to focus on fear

Oppression divided by depression of self

Prelude to self harm (skip ahead)

Queer in my skin

Rather in my

Soul

Tested by every bully and redneck to continue

Unabashedly living loudly as my authentic self

Victory outreached to me and my inner child

When I released the past

Xanthic happy bright hues I can only pray that

You will do the same

Zoom into self acceptance without being afraid

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Joshua Hess

I live a life often unbelievable. From the countless tragedies & triumphs to the chances I've taken & have been given, I'm still alive to write about them all, always sharing in the hopes of helping others and healing myself along the way.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer3 months ago

    This felt empowering with the sadness you began with and the victory you ended with. Well done loved reading it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.