Poets logo

Dress Up

I'll read the lines

By Joshua HessPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
1

Always wanted to play dress up

You be her

And he'll be me

Play the role

Dance the dance

I can close my eyes and see

I've never wanted to be myself

I suppose I don't know who he is

Lies will do just fine for now

I'll act my act while I add a smile

Until the lights go down as I take a bow

As long as I don't know them

They can't know me

For now I am anyone I want to be

What a perfect opportunity

Those pill bottles on the shelf

Well I guess that's who I am

Once he held his face up to the mirror

Did you catch how fast he ran?

Write the script

Believably

I'll read the lines

I'll live the life

As long as it isn't mine

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Joshua Hess

I live a life often unbelievable. From the countless tragedies & triumphs to the chances I've taken & have been given, I'm still alive to write about them all, always sharing in the hopes of helping others and healing myself along the way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    Whoaaa, this was so poignant and profound. Excellent poem!

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    This is great, I wonder how much of our lives we spend on script.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.