Poets logo

Tears

They allow you to release

By Ali SPPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
10
Photo by Elijah Hiett on Unsplash

A burden that is too heavy to carry

A heart longing to be free

A mind tired of restless thoughts–growing numb

and in search of direction

Before the soul is entirely lost

It needs to have this release

*

I have been meaning to do this for days

Finally, let it all out even though it pains

Allowing my tears to explode like fireworks in the night

Bringing forth new life

Leaving all negativity behind

*

No point in keeping it all in

It only hurts me in the end

Let it cascade down my face, past my cheeks

and the corners of my mouth

Let me taste the saltiness it leaves

to remind me of my body’s capabilities

The strength it has to endure anything

*

I have grown tired of holding it in

Its release is freeing up some space

Every drop that falls is making me lighter

I am ridding myself of unnecessary weight

*

In its place I have acquired space

that will be filled with positive experiences and feelings

To exist for no other purpose but to find happiness

My body has been cleansed

My focus has changed

I can take on the good and bad in the world

All I have to do is release and let go

...

Thank you for reading. This poem was originally published here.

inspirational
10

About the Creator

Ali SP

Ali has found a renewed passion for reading and creating. It is now a form of expression for her– another creative outlet which she works to improve upon.

https://www.instagram.com/art.ismyrefuge/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.