Poets logo

Teardrops

A Poem About Grief

By Carol TownendPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
2
Teardrops
Photo by Ed Leszczynskl on Unsplash

Tell me when do these tears end?

I'll tell you, never,

These are tears that will go on forever.

A blooming rose wilts, just like my heart,

A feeling of emptiness has covered my soul

Since the day we had to part.

A million goodbyes I cannot say,

It should never have been this way.

Is there a light in this dark?

Please, someone, answer me,

For my heart feels like it is in eternal pain,

And my tears fall like never-ending rain.

They tell me you are there in spirit,

Are you in heaven watching me?

How I wish you were here so that

I could say the words I never got

to say.

These tears fall like never-ending rain,

And my heart is shrouded in pain,

A feeling of emptiness has covered my soul,

And my heart is broken into a million pieces.

There is no consolation in saying goodbye,

As my words, to heaven they fly high,

But I can take comfort because you are

In pain no more;

And although my tears will last forever,

This pain will end never.

There are no words to explain such loss;

I will keep you in the part of my heart

where the sun shines.

Though on the days of dark, cloudy skies,

My mourning will start once again,

And, my tears will fall like Never-ending rain.

I lost one of my best Aunties recently, and I can't describe the pain of grief that I am feeling. I decided to try and express my feelings through poetry to try and help me to heal the pain and emptiness inside my heart.

I was unable to make contact with my Auntie because of trauma, but I have always held a very special place in my heart for her.

Grief is difficult no matter what has happened. We all have feelings, we are all human.

I still remember my Auntie like it was yesterday.

She was the kindest and most caring Auntie I had ever known.

She gave me many happy memories of my childhood, and it was always a delight to be in her company.

I feel heartbroken that I never got to say goodbye, but those memories of laughter, feeling safe, and having someone to talk to when I needed it most, are memories I will treasure for a lifetime.

I can take comfort from the fact that she is reunited in heaven with her mum, dad, and son now and that they will all look after each other.

However, goodbye is still a hard word to say, though I truly treasured my Auntie, and I will always remember her with love.

Healing takes time, and it feels like my heart will never heal, but I can still feel her around me, and I will keep living my life and reaching my goals, because my Auntie would want me to.

My cousins have lost a dear mum, and although we haven't seen each other for a very long time, I want to add a message:

You are both in my heart and you always have been. There is not a day going by when I don't think about you all with love. I still think about you with lots of affection, and one day I hope that we can be reunited again.

sad poetryheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    I'm sorry for your loss. Your poem is beautiful and I agree that poetry is a great outlet for grief.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.