Poets logo

Prayer of Devotion

A poem about mental health struggles and period pain

By Rowan RileyPublished 14 days ago 1 min read
1

Between my thighs

Under some cover of night

I spill some fresh blood

///

Slash with unseen blades

Call your men to arms

This is war of the corpus

///

Precise in my needlework

Shameful of the handiwork

I beseech some Death God

///

Three slashes, that’s it

If I’m finished, we’re done

If it’s over, you lose

///

Bargains for not

Gods for nothing

Prone before you

I beg for the courage to see this deed done

social commentaryMental Health
1

About the Creator

Rowan Riley

I've been writing since I was very young and am trying to put myself out there by sharing some of my works, both new and old.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani14 days ago

    The painful experience - relatable. Hope you're okay!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.