Poets logo

Tattoo

The marks you left

By Andrea N. BrownPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Tattoo
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

It had been three years

Since I’d crossed your threshold

But somehow walking in,

It still felt like home.

We sat on your living room floor

Passing the sketchpad back and forth

Perfecting the design

With your hand and mine.

Then we moved to the kitchen

Chatting as you set up your tools;

I put my ankle in position

And you etched into my skin.

To make it through the pain

I squeezed the hands

Of your lovely sister

Who might as well be mine.

I thought how fitting it was

At your kitchen table

Creating something beautiful, permanent

Holding on for strength.

I look down at it smiling

As I sit in my apartment

On the other side of the globe

The beautiful marks you left.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Andrea N. Brown

Always trying to live my coziest life. Fueled by coffee, long walks, stacks of books, watching the birds, and staring at trees. Writing keeps me alive.

Current inspirations: Billy Collins, Mary Oliver, Carlos Ruiz Fafon and Lily King

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Brooke Farrarabout a year ago

    Andreaaaa!! This was so perfect, and you made sis cry!! Also, she wants it printed so she can put in on her wall 🥹🫶💖

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.