Poets logo

I flit from branch to branch

Glide from tree to tree

By Andrea N. BrownPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
I flit from branch to branch
Photo by Noel Broda on Unsplash

I flit from branch to branch,

Glide from tree to tree.

The comfort comes and fades;

I always ache again

For another place to perch.

The migration can never stop;

I can never settle.

I move with the seasons,

Following the enigmatic pull

To a familiar warmth.

I keep building

Nest after nest after nest,

And stay until each one grows cold,

Then start collecting scraps again

And scout for a place to land.

Maybe home is in my feathers.

Maybe it's in the song that I sing.

Maybe it is, as they always say,

In this thing that drums and drums

Inside my little chest.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Andrea N. Brown

Always trying to live my coziest life. Fueled by coffee, long walks, stacks of books, watching the birds, and staring at trees. Writing keeps me alive.

Current inspirations: Billy Collins, Mary Oliver, Carlos Ruiz Fafon and Lily King

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.