Poets logo

Talking Stage

a poem

By Minhal KahloonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Being in the talking stage is exhausting

It's always the same questions over and over again

I can’t count how many times I have answered “ how old are you?”

Or my favourite “ what are you looking for ?”

It's so tiring when they tell you they only want hookups

Is that all I am good for? Just hooking up

The red flags you notice and you aren't even dating yet

At this point, I would rather be alone

I have been taught that women should never lower their standards

If he can't meet them, then you move on to someone who can

I blame romance books for setting my standards so high

My ex-lover is to blame as well

Every new person I talk to I compare to him

From the way they talk to how they treat strangers on the streets

I'm aware that isn’t a good habit

But it is hard not to compare

Especailly when he treated me so amazing that words can't even describe it

I would rather try again with him than be with anyone else

love poemssad poetrysurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Minhal Kahloon

20 | Gemini | Feminist |

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.