Poets logo

Tales of an Insomniac

I Come Alive in the Nighttime

By Maia DeLucaPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Sometimes I don’t sleep at night

Sometimes read a book

Or maybe two

Sometimes I bundle up

And I go outside

I wander the narrow roads

As the faded yellow street lights

Dimly brighten the pitch-black sky

Sometimes I listen for the rustling of leaves

As the wind passes through them,

The rhythmic sound of a cricket’s chirp,

And the sound of my feet hitting the asphalt

Aimlessly, I roam

Until the early hours of the morning

I never know why

I try to fall asleep, I swear I do

Perhaps it’s my relentless mind

Protecting me from the darkness of my own subconscious

There used to be moments

When watching the sunrise would turn tired moments into pleasurable ones

As drowsy eyes would gaze at the beauty before them

Almost blinded by the bright pink and orange colours

Peeking through along the horizon

Such beauty does not affect me as much

Nor does it impress me anymore

Like most pleasures in life

Watching the sunrise loses its dreamlike thrill

Once it becomes a habit

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Maia DeLuca

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.