Poets logo

Take Your Bow

Your Never Too Old

By DeEtta MillerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

I awake to live

Another day.

Disappointment, regret

Comes out to play.

Rubbing old eyes

Gripping coffee cup tightly.

The dream of lost youth

Visits me nightly.

I am nothing special

So painfully clear.

If I bring no gifts

Why am I here?

To sing and dance

On stage and screen,

Was once my hope.

Was once my dream.

Newspaper shows audition call,

Maturity is their quest.

You can make it, if you hurry

Get up old fool, get dressed!

As I turn the corner

And park the car,

I realize I might be

Their answer, their star…

What have I to lose

Gracing their stage?

Handed a script

With a circled page.

The director finally

Shouts my name.

After watching the others

I’m sorry I came.

Standing center stage

Saying lines wrong

I panic and smile,

As I break into song.

The last note echoes

Throughout the house,

No one speaks

Quiet as a mouse.

The director shaking

His head left to right,

Makes it very clear

My dream ends tonight.

I grab my coat,

Run for the street.

I can’t feel my body

From my head to my feet.

Tears cloud my view

As I close my old eyes.

Stepping into the street

What a deadly surprise.

Sirens blare in the distance

The crowd looks away

Above all the chaos,

I heard him say.

“What a sad loss.

She would have been great!

She could have been famous,

It’s never too late.”

This is where

I wake from my dream.

Most days I cry

Some days I scream.

Getting up for my coffee

While reading reviews

I gasp as I notice

I have blood on my shoes.

Dreams are your soul

Shouting into the night,

Held captive till dawn

With no way to take flight.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

DeEtta Miller

Found my "Voice" as a college student of forty-seven. Once a memoir was written, fiction, poetry and non-fiction became my passions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    Dreams of past dreams? An interesting poem. Go to the audition if one does come up in reality. What have you got to lose? Just be careful on the street outside.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.