Poets logo

Take A Stand

or "how my neighbor's kids kinda saved the world"

By Donna ReneePublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 2 min read
23
Created with DALL E 2

~~~

One fine summer afternoon

The ship touched down out back.

A greenish purple alien

oozed out a window crack.

~

I've no idea why the spaceship

landed in my yard

"You have one chance to save your world."

So I thought very hard...

~

How can I convince them

our existence shouldn't end?

Why one chance? That isn't fair.

Why me, and not a friend?

~

I hemmed and hawed, they rolled their eyes

"Your time is running out."

Well, crap, I thought, it's up to me

Earth's future is in doubt.

~

"Ten minutes till the clock is up"

There is no time for drives

To blue oceans or tall mountains

so how will I save our lives???

~

I tried in vain to find a book,

or movie worth a world,

and then I peeked out from the drapes

and hope within me swirled!

~

I brought them to the corner

where the neighbor's kids had made

a cardboard box into a stall

to sell some lemonade.

~

A crayon sign was taped up top

Scrawled in a child's hand

"two dollars, please" it said in red

I asked what they had planned...

~

For the money that they'd earn that day

they had some worthy thoughts

To share some excess from the "haves"

with our hometown's "have-nots"

~

I watched the creature's eyes well up

with fluid of some kind

as they sipped upon the lemonade

Could this have changed their mind???

~

I smiled at the alien,

and said, "can I assume,

that the giving spirit of these kids

has saved us from our doom?"

~

"What? No!" they scoffed,

"Such charity means nothing to our race

But lemonade is something

that we really need in space!"

~

Who knew some crappy lemonade

in tiny mason jars

would mean salvation to the Earth

and peace with "men" from Mars?

~~~

humor
23

About the Creator

Donna Renee

Hi! Thanks for reading! My hobbies include making coffee, drinking coffee, and starting to write a story and then rage-deleting it when I get the slightest bit frustrated.

Work in Progress: WOWH, cozy mystery (paranormal elements)

INSTAGRAM

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    It is the little things that matter most it would seem. Great poem and message.

  • Denise E Lindquist7 months ago

    Enjoyed the saving the world poem! It is great!😊💕

  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    This was so cute and fun!! I love that lemonade saved the world!! Great work!!

  • Alexander McEvoy7 months ago

    This got a genuine laugh out of me Donna! "Lemonade is something we really need out in space" Great and very funny poem!

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    Really cool and charming entry Donna. Great work! ☺️👏 I see you have been busy. I’m well behind.

  • Jazzy 7 months ago

    That was a great ending, love that so much! Who new that Country Time would come in so handy!!!

  • Haha loved the ending Great job Donna!

  • Not me reading your subtitle, seeing your cover pic and thinking that your neighbours kids saved the world by turning the alien into juice and drinking it 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 The lemonade was a plot twist for me hahahahaha because I seriously was expecting them to drink up the aliens! Loved your poem!

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Very playful with a solid message, but damn, two dollars. I hope it wasn't served in a dixie cup, lol.

  • Caroline Craven8 months ago

    I love this. Really clever. Great job Donna!

  • Dana Stewart8 months ago

    Very cute! I loved so many of these lines, great take on the challenge!

  • Such a beautiful, fun poem with such an ironic end. Well done as always, Donna!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Creative and impressive!!! Who knew it that all they needed was lemonade 🍋 Loving your rhyming take a stand poem!!!

  • Andrew C McDonald8 months ago

    Very cute. Obviously sweet lemonade. Lol. Good luck.

  • Ahna Lewis8 months ago

    Haha, so cleverly done, Donna! Definitely gets my vote for the contest! The storytelling was excellent and the humor did not disappoint! 😆

  • Stephanie Hoogstad8 months ago

    This was a cute poem, and somehow I knew the lemonade itself would save the day. 🤣

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Lol. This is great. I'd have spiked it.

  • Mark Gagnon8 months ago

    Just imagine how they’d react to a root beer float! Funny story 😆

  • Hahaha, I was wondering how it would end, 🍋 This Is Terrific, Storytelling❗

  • Mohammed Darasi8 months ago

    That was a fun read 😁... who knows, maybe if we meet up with aliens they would have empathy and choose to spare us for the right reasons 😂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.