Poets logo

T-Rex Mommie

With Apologies to Theordore Seuss Geisel

By John CoxPublished 22 days ago Updated 16 days ago 1 min read
23

T-Rex mommie, did you love your babies,

Or just leave them in their eggs?

Did you rock them in your tiny arms,

and kiss their little heads?

Did you pack them carnivorous lunches

in little iron pails,

Or pat their dino bottoms

and tell them "Go to Hell?"

Did your read them silly stories,

with funny dino rhymes,

Or warn them "Don't bother daddy,

When he stares with bloodshot eyes?"

T-Rex mommie, did you love your babies,

And sing them lullabies?

Did you hug them when they skinned their knees,

Or give them milkshakes and dragon fries?

...

Did you go to teacher's conferences,

and teach them how to spell?

Did you make them home cooked meals,

Or hunt them in the veld?

...

I like to think you loved them dearly

Just like we love our own.

I like to think you worried,

When they tarried coming home.

...

Are those your genes I see,

When father cardinal whistles sharply

And his babies duck their heads,

Or when mother feeds them wiggly grubs and tucks them into bed?

...

T-Rex mommie, did you love your babies,

Or just leave them in their eggs?

Did you rock them in your tiny arms,

and kiss their little heads?

childrens poetry
23

About the Creator

John Cox

Family man, grandfather, retired soldier and story teller with an edge.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Dawnxisoul393art2 days ago

    Your poetic exploration of the nurturing instincts of a T-Rex mom is both imaginative and heartwarming. The vivid imagery of a fierce dinosaur caring for her babies in tender ways creates a touching contrast.

  • Hannah Moore15 days ago

    How is this so cute?

  • jameel Nawaz15 days ago

    "Beautiful content! I support you and appreciate your support for me. Together, we can achieve great things! 🌟😊"

  • Gerard DiLeo19 days ago

    Could be the winner, John! Great.

  • L.C. Schäfer21 days ago

    I can see this a) winning, and b) being a kids' book with wacky illustrations 😁

  • D.K. Shepard21 days ago

    Nicely done, John! Love the repetition of the first stanza at the close! They bookended this clever jovial piece perfectly! Great take on the challenge!

  • Heather Zieffle 22 days ago

    This was wonderful, John! I absolutely adored it! ❤

  • Gabriel Huizenga22 days ago

    Love this, John!! Such a sweet, funny, and very clever piece! :)

  • Cathy holmes22 days ago

    Haha. I just love this! Great job.

  • Paul Stewart22 days ago

    You always comment on my versatility, so now friend, it's my turn to turn the tables. Man, that's too many turns. Anyway, this is delightful. Like...a little delight. It's what's great about proper writing for children. It has humour, and rhyming (done well, so no complaints from me), tells a little tale, with lots of vivid imagery and also, crucially tells some facts in amongst the whimsy. Ticks all the boxes as far as I'm concerned and is a very pristine piece to get all technical on you. I feel I need to cos that profile shot lol. Absolutely loved it, sir. What a great entry - if the Vocal judges have any sense, this should be up there somewhere in the mix (I'd say win, but it seems my Kingmaker status doesn't grant me that control, haha) Anyway, well done John and I look forward to seeing this on the front page too.

  • Anna 22 days ago

    Haha, I loved your poem! It made me smile😊

  • Hahahahahahhaah this was so fun! Now I want milkshake and dragon fries hehehehehhe

  • Rachel Deeming22 days ago

    I much prefer the image of a T-Rex mummy cradling her young than one taking them out on the hunt. Nicely whimsical. I loved the image of her packing them a carnivorous lunch!

  • Awww, John, your versatility amazes me. I loved the reference to birds, since dinos are supposed to be related. And I am always fond of anthropomorphized creatures because it helps understand them. Quite charming, my friend!

  • Andrea Corwin 22 days ago

    Love it!! ❤️❤️❤️ loved the bird comparison question at the end and the repetition from the beginning. Great job!!! 👏

  • Lamar Wiggins22 days ago

    Haha. The photo alone gets a big thumbs up! Love the baby T-rex head coming from the right side. Great poem, John!

  • Shirley Belk22 days ago

    I love the picture you created! (and your profile) The concept of T Rex mom is great!

  • It is nice Cox!

  • JBaz22 days ago

    Perfect, I would have read this to my children when they were young

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.