Poets logo

Sweet light

A poem

By Rambler's SocietyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Sweet light
Photo by Yeshi Kangrang on Unsplash

The sun burns bright, piercing the air, striking my skin. So early, yet so warm.

Invisible to my eyes, the sun kisses the plants. One by one, inch by inch, showing love and affection to every cell.

What happens behind closed doors does not bother me, yet the pain I receive is all but lost.

I try to adapt; I try to accommodate; I try to suffer, nothing works. I love you, yet you love another, scorned by my love like the gas that surrounds you.

Farewell, I choose to stick up for myself. I won’t tolerate your scarring hate anymore. Considering your absence, I will choose life.

No matter how often you stalk me through my blinds, I won’t miss you completely. A tiny part of me clings to what we have. The euphoria becomes addictive.

I’ll seek you out in my lowest moments, but never at my highest. I will wish you were there when you aren’t and when you won’t leave me alone, I will wish nothing but for you to vanish.

I’m leaving now, standing tall, proud of my decision.

I’ll see you soon.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rambler's Society

Hello everyone! I write fictional surreal stories and poems. I love writing and I hope that you enjoy reading what I've to offer. I have plenty more written down on my website so I'd love it if you'd go check it out!

ramblersociety.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.