Poets logo

Surprising Confession

A Romantic Experience

By Nicole Higginbotham-HoguePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
9
Surprising Confession
Photo by Joe Ciciarelli on Unsplash

I remember looking at you

and wondering if you would ever look at me the same

I had opened my mouth to talk

but you interrupted and I did the best to tame

the fire that was in my heart

as I tried to listen

but I was distracted by your soft, tender lips

and you turned your gaze, looking down

which made my stomach do flips

I didn’t know what would happen if I

told you how I really felt

but when you looked back at me with tears in your eyes

I felt my heart completely melt

you confessed your love and I was in shock

I could barely move

I didn’t expect you to feel the same way

I figured I’d tell you how I felt

and you’d disapprove

my breath caught in my chest

my throat tightened

making it difficult to speak

I confessed that I felt the same way

I wondered if this was all a dream

You looked at me and I looked back

our eyes connected, making the world go by

and at that moment I felt so blessed

I almost wanted to cry

I had searched and I’d prayed

to find someone like you for so long

so what’s the chance that I had been looking

and you had been there all along

love poems
9

About the Creator

Nicole Higginbotham-Hogue

Nicole Higginbotham-Hogue is a lesfic author at amzn.to/36DFT2x. Sign-up for her newsletter at higginbothampublications.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.