Poets logo

Please Let Me Sleep

A Mother's Plea

By Nicole Higginbotham-HoguePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
13
Please Let Me Sleep
Photo by bruce mars on Unsplash

Please let me sleep

I don’t ask for much

I can’t wake up at three

and be expected to perform without a crutch

please let me rest

my eyes are weary

and body tired

I know that you have a lot of energy

but I can’t help it that you’re wired

please close your eyes

and take a little nap

mommy would be grateful

and I’m sure your other parent would be glad

please don’t expect to play

when the sun isn’t even up

why not feel rejuvenated

we both can’t be in a slump

yes, please rest your eyes

I love your little snores

and then in the morning

we can play some more

childrens poetry
13

About the Creator

Nicole Higginbotham-Hogue

Nicole Higginbotham-Hogue is a lesfic author at amzn.to/36DFT2x. Sign-up for her newsletter at higginbothampublications.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.