Poets logo

surprised af...

a lil hood ditty...

By Majique MiMiPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
surprised af...
Photo by Kaysha on Unsplash

…what happens to me when I am attempting to articulate my emotions…

feelings, dare I say

…is the articulation manifests into verses

of staccato lines

because I find myself

pausing

out of fear.

with all of its definitions and acronyms

happenings and happenstance

what it all boils down to, is fear.

a bitter blood red root chakra ground brew sipped during my Morning Meditation.

here’s the story.

i’m not afraid of you.

i’m afraid of being rejected by you.

the you, you show.

because would I even give a damn about the you I don’t know?

who knows?

what I do know is the last time we were together got dammit you balanced my chakras.

I saw auras.

felt fluid.

or

you just have some really…

good

weed.

sincerest apologies because I suck at sarcastic bravado.

but bravery?

bravery I bangs wit.

bravery has me telling the you

you show me

that I dig you

more than I should.

bravery also has me handing you the shovel I dug you with

you can either bury me with my own words,

or plant a garden.

either way I’ll still blossom

through all of the bullshit.

first published by Michele Mitchell, 2018

love poems
2

About the Creator

Majique MiMi

You can call me MiMi. I’m a Brain Aneurysm & Stroke Survivor & Former English Professor. I write to stay sane, and to keep gratitude in my Spirit & Praises in my mouth.

Check out my series starting with Hood Ornaments

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.