Poets logo

Sunshine

A poem about a boy that saved my life when I was dying inside and out

By Sadie Hirsch Published about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Sunshine
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

Before I even open my eyes

I don't think about the list

The always to-do

I don't hear the sound

Of the outside world abound

I see the remnants of my dream

The smell of reverie

The taste of watermelon candy

The colors of a painted sky

Such an orange of zest and pink of love

I don't think about the time

Or anything hanging on the line

I don't have to make the freight train stop

Because I feel

I feel your warmth

I hear your heart

I see you, torn apart

Like particles of light sent from the sun

I feel the rays, see the energy

I feel you, all around me

The violent start of their life

Caresses my skin, says it's alright

Then I open my eyes

And nothing exists

Because I get to see you

Perfectly imperfect

Like sunshine that burns

Because I can't get enough of it

So I sit

And bask in the haze of our phase

Uncertain when the gaze upon our days

Will be dimmed by a cloud

But for now

We both know we want the other

So we soak each other in

A kind of bond that we may not quite find again

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Sadie Hirsch

Mystical creative who writes, dreams, dances and sings

Breast Cancer survivor at 35, grateful for each day I'm alive

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.