Poets logo

Don't Stand At My Grave

Ode to almost losing my life, and losing my best friend at the same time

By Sadie Hirsch Published about a year ago 2 min read
Like
Don't Stand At My Grave
Photo by Tadej Skofic on Unsplash

Don't stand at my grave and weep, you weren't there when I died

Though my body may leave the earth, my golden spirit will paint the sky

Those sunsets you say all look the same

I hope you see in a different light

Somehow I felt disappointed, you don't see the beauty of life

I felt the sun kiss my skin and remembered how to breathe

I opened my eyes and death was there

She touched my heart and I was calm without despair

I felt alive as I slipped away

Knowing it wasn't Goodbye

And perhaps I'd see you another day anyway

Don't stand at my grave and cry

You and I know you never really tried

You never gave a damn, even at my end you couldn't pretend

Where were you when I was on my knees

In a hospital bed, begging for life and mercy

I know you thought, "She'll be fine, I won't care if she dies"

I wasn't, and I didn't, and you did, to your demise

As if we'd pick up where we left off, no big deal if she doesn't survive

I don't want you at my grave, your spirit is dark and cold

Go live your life worrying about money, cars and houses of gold

Don't stand at my grave and weep, for I didn't really die

I may have left my body but I'm alive up in the sky

Don't stand at my grave and weep, I'm still close to you

I'm in the sunset and the thunder, every gentle summer breeze

I may have left before my time, I know it seems unfair

But so was your dishonesty, your knives and lack of care

I'll never know the good I could do if I were blessed enough to stay

Maybe it was the time for me, Spirits plan is never clear

The remnants of our memories, please keep them safe in your heart

They're enshrined in frames of gold, only we can tear them apart

Don't stand at my grave and weep, that's wasted love on grief

I only wished you had said it too, like you know you felt because it's true

Don't stand at my grave and weep, you know that's not my wish

When you miss me too much

Look at the sky, feel the wind, and know it's my souls touch

heartbreaksurreal poetrysad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sadie Hirsch

Mystical creative who writes, dreams, dances and sings

Breast Cancer survivor at 35, grateful for each day I'm alive

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.