Poets logo

Sunday Afternoon

take a drive with me.

By Ashley LimaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
8
Sunday Afternoon
Photo by Jeremy Perkins on Unsplash

I love sticking my hands out of the driver's side window;

Fingers dancing in the wind under the light of the Blue Mountain sun.

The radio turned all the way up with the bass jumping;

Playing the same ten songs that never get old.

I don't mind the hair in my face,

Even as it whips my skin and sticks to my teeth,

Because I'm too busy singing the lyrics.

They're second nature at this point,

My lips move in sync by muscle memory.

I love the way the road twists and turns,

And the way my ears pop when the elevation changes.

It reminds me of being in the sky, on my first flight.

The unexpected pressure that nearly knocked me out

Has turned into sensations of home.

The trees pass by at light speed,

Blending together yellows, browns, and greens;

A naturalistic mosaic, ever-changing, just for me.

I like watching the houses

And thinking about the families that live there.

I wonder what's for dinner tonight.

I say silent prayers for the road kill,

And I hope they're as peaceful in their eternal slumber,

As I am in this moment.

surreal poetry
8

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨9 months ago

    You took me back to memories I had long since forgotten 🥹 Another beautiful piece of work, Ashley ❤️✨

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    This is so gorgeous. I love the blending colours being referred to as a 'naturalistic mosaic' and the prayers for the roadkill was so sweet.

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    “I say silent prayers for the road kill, And I hope they're as peaceful in their eternal slumber, As I am in this moment.” What a mic drop! That’s one of the best endings I’ve ever seen for a poem. It just wraps the whole thing up nicely with a beautiful bow, and it’s a gift for us readers. A celebration of those feelings of surrender when we give in to the present moment, unbothered by the past or future.

  • I enjoyed the carefree sensations this brought about while reading this fantastic piece.

  • Mesh Toraskar10 months ago

    Oh this is so beautiful Ashley, completely captures the joy of driving with accompanying music stunningly. Love this so much. Glad Mackenzie's story brought me here.

  • Suze Kay10 months ago

    Ashley, this poem is marvelous! I am personally a passenger princess, but this poem still spoke so deeply to the piece of me that loves long drives. I am also a serial relistener of playlists :D So glad Mackenzie gave me the opportunity to discover this piece!

  • With the radio (or cd player) blaring & my fingers dancing out the windows--whether driver's side or any other--this is my moment of peace & pure bliss.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.