Poets logo

Looking Back

When the road gets rocky, we turn to memories.

By Ashley LimaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Looking Back
Photo by Caleb Ekeroth on Unsplash

I noticed your quirks right away.

The way you smile with one side of your face.

How your eyes change colors under the shade;

From blue to green and back again.

I noticed your teeth and the way that they beamed.

How you always seemed so happy and free.

The way the lines wrinkled in your freckled cheeks

And how bad I wanted to kiss your lips for release.

When I talked to you, you listened intently

Your answers were worded ever so gently.

We laughed for hours and you were so friendly,

It felt like the schoolyard days in elementary.

My stomach did flips and my mind was a flutter,

But speaking with you was smoother than butter.

We quickly got to know everything about each other,

That summer day under the sunshine and cloud cover.

Everything was so easy before it got tough

But when I'm upset and our road gets rough

I go back to the days before I knew love,

When I knew us together was more than enough.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.