Poets logo

Have you ever been called a "Dinosaur".

How did that make you feel?

By Novel AllenPublished 15 days ago Updated 15 days ago 1 min read
8
Emotions by AI

Speak not to me of

EMOTIONS

That diaphanous duality of our soul's need for belonging...a sheer multi-faceted fountain of thoughts, needs, feelings, hate, desire and a need to be wanted, loved and cherished

no one wants to feel irrelevant...no longer fitting in with the 'it' crowd ... a part of the amazing accord imbued into the feeling of acceptance and connectiveness

we all have a deep desire to be socially compatible with other members of a group, society or family

TO BE CALLED A DINOSAUR

cuts deep into the psyche

implying that one has become an extinct specie

Is it not an insult to both the one as well as the splendid dinosaurs

who were once masters of their domain...proud, magnificent, mighty, gentle and brutally terrible in their beauty

Being called a dinosaur is both an insult and a wanton act of praise...a double-edged sword reaching back almost two hundred million years in time

Would that I had been

Mesozoic, Triassic, Jurassic...ending in the Cretaceous

An era where dinosaurs dominated the planet and evolved into a wide range of species, shapes, and sizes

Call me dinosaur if you wish

It portends me strength, intelligence, gentleness, bravery, terror in the arch of my back, the tilt of my head, the intensity of my stare...and years of knowledge gained from living in the jungle of human-like tamed and untamed dinosaurs

Phenomenally, I am proud to be judged, a DINOSAUR!

......................................................................

Free VerseBallad
8

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK 13 days ago

    I have been called many things but yet to hear to my face this I am a dinosaur. I really dig your style!

  • I am very tall and during my school days, I used to be very fat. Tall and fat is a very bad combo. I used to be called a dinosaur and a Godzilla too. It still makes me feel sad but I'm now no longer fat. But those who called me those names are fat now hahahahahaha

  • L.C. Schäfer15 days ago

    Rahhhh!

  • Hannah Moore15 days ago

    And youre in good company!

  • Babs Iverson15 days ago

    Wonderful ballad!!! Impressively written!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.