Poets logo

Summertime Anxiety

A Sonnet

By Annie KapurPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
5
Summertime Anxiety
Photo by Joanna Kosinska on Unsplash

Partially broken, I stand with my hands

Out. Hands flat waiting for the envelope.

That once they said my behaviour was bad

And thus curtailed my dreams and dashed my hope.

Sweltering day, make me believe again.

Harsh sunlight, will you let me breathe awhile?

Comfort me and shine upon me - Heaven!

Tell me, do I have a reason to cry?

Open up, slide it out, turn it over.

Read it out, do not sweat, stand back for now.

One sheet, two sheets and then there’s another

For I defy all expectations now.

And so I moved on to the degree stage,

The first generation to graduate.

social commentary
5

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

200K+ Reads on Vocal.

English Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd) (QTS)

📍Birmingham, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 6 months ago

    Whew I love sonnets. Can’t write them myself but I adore this

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.