Poets logo

Summer Holiday

Happiness with my family

By Paul DouglasPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
9
Summer Holiday
Photo by Brandon Hoogenboom on Unsplash

As the winter rapidly approaches I wanted to publish one last summer poem full of happy memories of sunshine, tans, and playing in the pool. I hope to whisk you back to the beautiful summer days for a little while before the cool winter air blasts in.

__________________________

Ice cold beer on a beautiful clear day

The warm summers breeze blows the clouds away

The cool amber liquid slips down my hot throat

As my body tans and my spirits float.

*

Laying beside the swimming pool

At the start of my holiday

Smiling with my beautiful wife

All stress drifting away.

*

Suntan lotion and a blockbuster read

Kids splash in the pool, school year freed

Just one more beer and a sleep in the sun

My wife covers us in sunscreen, so neither of us burns.

*

This is what heaven looks like to me right here

Every person in this world that I hold dear

Summer sun and an ice-cold beer

These are the memories that I hold near.

*

Love and happiness are family bound

Riches beyond dreams, with my wife and kids around

Warm summer days, the splash in the pool

My wife snoring in her lounger

What more could life give to happiness fuel.

*

I smile at the kids and turn the page of my book

Top up my wife’s sunscreen to ensure she doesn’t cook

Have another sip of beer, and think to myself,

What I ever did to deserve such good luck.

__________________________

Thank you for taking the time to read my work.

If you enjoyed my piece, please consider clicking the little heart beside my name. Tips aren't necessary but would be most welcome.

If you are interested in reading more of my work, please click on my picture below.

performance poetry
9

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.