Poets logo

Stuck for Gift Ideas?

"But what can I get him? Every time he wants something he just buys it for himself!" He wants boxers, ma'am. Boxers and socks. Odds on, if he's not had a birthday since June (Father's Day) his are getting full of holes. He's counting on you. Don't let him down.

By L.C. SchäferPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
20
Stuck for Gift Ideas?
Photo by Kira auf der Heide on Unsplash

When you've been with someone a long time, or even not that long, thinking of stuff to get for your other half can be tricky.

This is a trite little ditty that helps me come up with a few things. I can't remember where I read the first couple of lines. Quite handy for kids, I think, sometimes there's a temptation to go batshit and get them too much. I added the rest.

Something to eat, something to read

Something you want, something you need

Something to drink, something to wear

Something to make, and something to share

If you're stuck, I hope it helps!

_______________________

Holidayinspirationalhumorhow to
20

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Kenny Penn5 months ago

    Yes this helps a lot! Thank you!!!

  • Manisha Dhalani6 months ago

    Nice one. Lucky for me my husband just wants something new to eat. Haha!

  • I loathe shopping but your poem makes it sound easy and fun!🤩

  • I'm not a gift kinda person. So like joke's on whoever that thinks I'm getting something for them. But I do like buying people food and drinks. So it's good to know that counts as gifts.

  • For the longest time I treated gift-giving as keepsakes, something you hold onto. One year my oldest brother gave me soap on a rope for Christmas. It took me literally decades to understand how nice it was to have a gift for which I did not need a permanent space. Use it & be done with it has become worth more & more to me as the years go by.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    that was a cute little poem, and certainly helpful.

  • Denise E Lindquist6 months ago

    Thank you! Loved the list in the form of a poem. I may even remember it when I start my list. We have way too many kids, grands, and great-grands. I told my children, I would only be getting presents for people I see at the holidays. We have a few grandchildren that we see every couple of years. They get a gift card. I will have extras on hand just in case.

  • Alexander McEvoy6 months ago

    Very helpful! Trying to get presents for people is so difficult as an adult! Even worse is the dreaded questions “what do you want for Christmas?” Since typically I just buy what I want when I want it, and even that list is shockingly short

  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    Cute poem, L.C! I can't speak for the other guys, but since Christmas is during the winter, I prefer boxer-cut briefs. Free-ranging is nice when it's warm, but cozy and snug for me in the winter. TMI, I know.

  • Rachel Deeming6 months ago

    Boxers and socks it is! Phew. Sorted without a drip of stress sweat spilled. Thanks, L.C.! Can you tell me the title of your book please and where I may purchase it? Ta.

  • Heather Hubler6 months ago

    I have heard part of that poem before, but it was a great reminder. My hubby does is in fact get it when he wants it, lol, so it's hard to get him anything too far in advance. Enjoyed this :)

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    Fun and clever, loved this little poem, LC!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.