Poets logo

Story of my Life

Michael Marchese

By Michael Brandon MarchesePublished 4 years ago 1 min read

Making maps of childhood

Exploring great unknowns

Escaping to uncharted woods

To fix my broken homes

From the sharpened sticks and stone

And the daggers often thrown

Though blunt and made of silverware

They cut through bone and love we shared

So always I alone

Was left to save the fantasies

In words I wrote and read

And picture perfect families

Envisioned in my head

For the dreams that made my bed

Free from monsters that I fled

By casting fears like spells abound

When under covers I then found

My nightmare light to shed

On each house-divided page

And unhappy never endings

In this tale of coming rage

Torn out from my notebook rendings

To a tune of doom impendings

As the heroes of my youth defendings

Vanquished all my villains slain

With a sword of growing pain

Pulled out from my play-pretendings

Ever I, the dragon's bane

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Michael Brandon MarcheseWritten by Michael Brandon Marchese

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.