Poets logo

Storm II

isobars and pressure

By Brenton FPublished 7 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read

i tried to tame the tempest

i tried to catch her fury

i got burned for my efforts

burned and mocked

i tried to bargain with the winds

deafened by her defiant howls

a maelstrom, a crescendo

the buzz of a thousand angry banshees

i tried to strike a deal with the rains

with the hail and the fog and the sleet

sodden temporary promises

they all left as quick as they came

i tried to steal the thunder

my hands were not enough

not enough to conceal her

not even for a moment

i tried to hold the lightning

my hands are scorched to this very day

something so pure and bright

may never be held

.

.

.

Storm

how to

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Andrew C McDonald7 months ago

    FYI: I nominated your poem ‘How Does He Do It’ for Poppy’s graveyard challenge. https://vocal.media/writers/the-graveyard-challenge I hope you don’t mind

  • I tried to steal the thunder My hands were not enough I fell in love with those lines! Fantastic poem!

  • Andrew C McDonald7 months ago

    Great imagery. After the tempest has blown away and the maelstrom and crescendo fades, listen for the sussurus.

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Oh wow. This is powerful, and really well done. Off to find number 1.

  • wow, this is really powerful stuff. I also love the fight, flight or write, never disappointed in your writing

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    Profound, and sad. Beautifully written.

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    Liking these last two a lot and how the metaphors are open to interpretations. 😊👍

Brenton FWritten by Brenton F

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.