Poets logo

Stevie Nicks was right all along

A poem

By Leigh SchillingPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1

I don't have a religion

It's just not for me;

I don't know what I believe in,

But you can bet that what ever it is,

you won't find it in a church.

I don't have a religion,

but sometimes I feel pretty close to it.

I feel it in the first sip of coffee

on any given morning.

The one that makes your eyelids

drift closed.

The one that you can feel

Warming you all the way down your belly,

That's the sip that nourishes your soul.

I feel it every time a baby laughs.

My niece, experiencing the world

In a new way, every single day.

If the stories are to be believed,

Every time a baby laughs, a fairy is born.

Well, every time I hear that little girl laugh,

I can hear the fairies singing,

Welcoming a new sibling into their world.

I feel it on nights with friends

Real- good friends, the ones that became family.

The nights when we're all piled into a kitchen

glasses always full,

face never frowning.

All of us rosy cheeked and laughing

No one knows what time it is, nor does any one care

neither do we know how many bottles we've finished.

I feel it in every library.

Deep within the stacks

every soul in the building is partially hidden

A quiet so deep you can hear your breathe.

You know there are others near you,

But still you are so deep within your own world, your own head,

the closest person feels miles away, they are, for all you know.

surrounded by someone else's words for a change.

I feel it alone in nature.

Sitting next to a creek, listening, just listening.

Your eyes are closed, and yet all senses are on overdrive

Feel the tall grass around you, the sun on your shoulders,

Smelling the wild flowers, the air.

You can just barely taste the raw honey from a nearby beehive,

longing for a spoonful.

you have never felt more alive than now.

I feel it during late nights with my love

Both of us knowing we should be asleep, neither of us caring

Enjoying the intimacy of just existing together,

Skin on skin,

reading a book together, giving characters funny voices.

It is impossible to tell where one of stops

And the other starts,

We have been one and the same for ages, there is no use trying to separate.

I don't believe in a religion.

I think life is so much more beautiful than just one set of rules or standards.

I worship life, I suppose.

I worship life.

By Annie Spratt on Unsplash

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Leigh Schilling

My name is Leigh

I am a conundrum

I write to understand

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.