Poets logo

Something I should have said years ago

A Poem

By Leigh SchillingPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2
Something I should have said years ago
Photo by Mahkeo on Unsplash

I miss you.

I miss you more than I think I've ever missed anything in my life.

I miss you more than there are stars in the sky,

or grains of sand on all the beaches.

I miss you more than I love my cigarettes.

I miss you more than I miss my favorite book than I dropped into a pond last month.

I miss you more than you can even begin to imagine,

and I will continue to miss you until the day that I die,

and I feel like that day will be soon.

I miss you more than you know; more than I know.

I miss you I miss you I miss you I miss you.

I want you lying here next to me in the grass in the middle of my favorite park staring up at the sky full of stars.

I saw my first shooting star that night, and I miss that.

I miss the warmth of your hand,

the chill everywhere else in my body,

I miss your deep voice laughing at me when I do something stupid.

I miss the way you crinkle your nose when you hear something you don't understand,

And I miss the way you circle your lips with your index finger when you're deep in thought.

I wish I didn't miss you.

you're not even mine to miss.

Oh god I wish you were mine.

I will continue to miss you for the rest of my short life.

God, get out of my head.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Leigh Schilling

My name is Leigh

I am a conundrum

I write to understand

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.