Poets logo

Stepping Off

For the Eclipse challenge

By Hannah MoorePublished 9 days ago Updated 9 days ago 1 min read
20
Stepping Off
Photo by Fré Sonneveld on Unsplash

Ever get the feeling you've been cheated?

Cuckolded, tricked or deceived?

Lied to, taken for a ride to

Imply they have what you need?

Perhaps there's something you're missing, something that cannot be bought.

Something you turn to the skies for, to seek what your heart always sought.

Each moonrise a boon to be greeted, each sunbeam a gift to be caught.

inspirational
20

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer8 days ago

    The rhythm of this is beautiful and satisfying 😌

  • Gina C.8 days ago

    I really enjoy the cleverness and rhyme in this! I especially love the last line - it brings the quirkness together with a finishing elegance. Also, "cuckold" is new for me -- I'll be adding that to my list of cool words :)

  • JBaz8 days ago

    Great use of the word "Cuckold" Cuckolded, tricked or deceived? This is a very clever piece

  • Novel Allen9 days ago

    There is a lot of that going around these days. People using your attempts at kindness to their advantage. But one rises above it all to become the bigger person. Always i turn to the sky...down here is a shiteshow. Onward and upward we go.

  • Paul Stewart9 days ago

    I loved that I scanned and saw "cuckolded" as the opening for the C line...unique...this made me think a lot...but had a positivity to it.

  • Oh wow, I especially loved that last line! So powerful and optimistic! Loved your Acrostic!

  • Teresa Renton9 days ago

    As well as the symbolic last lines, I love how you’ve crafted the beginning of the poem to engage the reader 😊

  • Joe O’Connor9 days ago

    This one flows really well, and I like the subtle shift in tone from beginning to end, especially with “ each sunbeam a gift to be caught”. Nicely done Hannah 👏🏾

  • Rachel Deeming9 days ago

    I loved the rhythm of this as well as the message. Well, I loved what the poem was trying to highlight. That's what I meant.

  • Kodah9 days ago

    "something that cannot be bought." Very creative acrostic! Love your poem! 💌

  • Grz Colm9 days ago

    Very much liked the feel of this one. I don’t think I’ve read many that rhyme. Great job! Those last two lines are particularly magical!

  • John Cox9 days ago

    DK's comments are spot on, Hannah. And on top of that, your final line rocks! Exceptional poem.

  • D.K. Shepard9 days ago

    Love how the pivot from questions of discontent to the epiphany in the later lines was so smoothly and seamlessly executed! Very nice!

  • Caroline Craven9 days ago

    This was excellent…. Especially the last two lines.

  • Heather Hubler9 days ago

    Wow, Hannah, this was just so wonderful. I read it like 5 times just to enjoy it again and again.

  • Cathy holmes9 days ago

    This is beautiful, especially the last two lines.

  • Andrea Corwin 9 days ago

    I loved the last line especially! Great job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.