Poets logo

Springtime in My Heart

How love heals winter, a poem by my mother

By Laura ManipuraPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

The winter sun depresses me with its iced satin glow.

It always chills me to the soul to hear the cold winds blow.

The trees, outlined against the sky, with branches bleak and bare,

Stand still in silent sorrow and seem sad that winter’s here.

The fading of fall’s final flower symbolizes death,

And the icy snows a protest with Mother earth’s last breath.

I pray to stop the onslaught of the snow and sleet and rain,

And I seek the summer sunshine, although I search in vain.

But recently I fell in love and all the world has changed,

The order of the seasons has somehow been rearranged.

And in the ice outside, a rose, it’s summer garment wears,

For winter winds seem warm to me whenever you are near.

The lilacs and the larkspur bloom, the trees still wear their green,

And honeybees are buzzing as they fly home to their queen.

The snow has fallen ankle deep, but robins won’t depart,

For ever since I fell in love, there’s springtime in my heart.

....................................

First image: https://pixabay.com/users/tangjiao990-1595606/

Second image: https://pixabay.com/users/9883074-9883074/

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.