Poets logo

Spring in Winter

A poem about the lack of snow this winter where I live

By Alexandria StanwyckPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
Spring in Winter
Photo by Charles Tyler on Unsplash

I never saw any white on the ground,

unless you count the morning frost

that disappeared before nine.

Spring peepers are harmonizing

with songbirds in an early spring symphony,

a pleasant sound to accompany my daydreams.

***

My closet has become a smorgasbord of every season.

I'm wearing sundresses under heavy trenchcoats

because the weather is unpredictable.

Now I am preparing for snow in April,

enough so the blooms poke out to remind us it's spring.

Have they been able to adapt as easy as I with the constant changes?

***

What a contradictory scene I see before me:

trees so bare when it feels like spring

in a place used to all four seasons.

I don't like the freezing snow

but even I must admit that I missed it.

Because, truly, what is winter without one good snow?

Stream of ConsciousnessFree VerseFor Fun

About the Creator

Alexandria Stanwyck

My inner child screams joyfully as I fall back in love with writing.

I am on social media! (Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok.)

instead of therapy poetry and lyrics collection is available on Amazon.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

  • A. J. Schoenfeld5 months ago

    I identified with this poem so easily. We often experience weather that can't make up it's mind about the season. I wish for you a wet spring, hot summer, crisp fall, and white winter.

  • Joe O’Connor5 months ago

    Beautiful piece, especially love the use of the word smorgasbord!

  • Andrea Corwin 5 months ago

    Congrats!! Perfect showing of how when snow doesn’t show up, we then miss it. Jonquils, Snowdrops pushing up but not through snow.

  • Anna 5 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • LASZLO SLEZAK5 months ago

    Excellent work.

  • Spring in Winter? This title is full of paradox! I'm curious to see how you explore this contrasting concept.

  • sleepy drafts5 months ago

    Oh, I feel this. It hasn't snowed much where I am either and it feels so unnatural. Thank you for writing and sharing this, and congratulations on Top Story!

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    Excellent sentiments! Scary too at the same time. I can't imagine wintertime without snow. Hopefully, we can blame El Nino this year. Hopefully...

  • Fawn Glenn5 months ago

    I'm making over $7k a month working component time. I saved hearing other people inform me how lots cash they as1 could make online so I decided to look at it. Well, it turned into all proper and has definitely modified my life.... Get this today by follow instructions —>>> W­w­w.M­o­n­e­y­P­a­y­1.c­o­m

  • Kale Bova 5 months ago

    Well-deserved Top Story!

  • Frankie Martinelli5 months ago

    This reminds of Prince's "Sometimes it snows in April" Great stuff!

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    This is great. Its a climate chaos here too. Blossom appearing while last years geraniums are still green

  • Alex H Mittelman 5 months ago

    Great poem! Hope the snow returns’! Loved this’!

Alexandria StanwyckWritten by Alexandria Stanwyck

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.