Poets logo

Sports Fan Here

A Rondeau about the Twins, and the Wild

By Denise E LindquistPublished 6 months ago β€’ 1 min read
8
Sports Fan Here
Photo by Jose Morales on Unsplash

Rondeau - a French poetic form that has 15 lines, three stanzas, and a couple refrains. Paul Laurence Dunbar's "We Wear the Mask" is a popular example of the rondeau.

As with other French forms, there is an element of rhyming and repetition in the rondeau. In fact, the rondeau is related to the triolet.

The rondeau is comprised of 15 lines across three stanzas with the first word or phrase from the first line represented as a refrain (R) and a rhyme scheme of two rhymes throughout (A and B). The rhyme and refrain scheme looks like this:

A (R), A, B, B, A, A, A, B, R, A, A, B, B, A, R

The A and B lines are usually eight or 10 syllables in length. The refrain is usually one to three words (or so). Writers Digest. Robert Lee Brewer

My attempt at a rondeau:

"Sports fan here" by Denise Estey Lindquist

This sports fan here, loves hockey, the Wild

When the season lags, I get riled

Then there is baseball and the Twins

I can count on them for many wins

I can sit back, watch sports and be mild

I will call the kids when they end up piled

The best games I keep, and they are filed

Hubby calls them piles, but they are in bins

Sports fan here

A few friends are fans and I have dialed

them to share how I had redialed

as I was so excited for the spins

around the field against those skins

that I couldn't help it and misdialed.

Sports fan here!

~

love poemsperformance poetry
8

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    Oooo, this is such a cool form and you executed it perfectly! Loved your poem!

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    I like watching the kids play while it's still fun for them. Great poem

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.