Poets logo

Splitting

Idealisation Vs Devaluation

By Erin ShieldsPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
6

Just one of the many symptoms experienced by people with Borderline Personaltity Disorder. I would like to share a link that explains in more detail exactly what ‘splitting’ is and what it is like for the person going through it. I hope it explains better why people with BPD exhibit these behaviours and provides a greater insight in how to best help someone during an epsiode.

This can be something extremely hard for not only the person with BPD to go through but their family members, partners and close friends too. It’s important to remember it IS a symptom of our illness and not necessarily something we are ‘choosing‘ to do. We don’t mean to do it and we don’t often have control over it. However I do personally feel with the correct therapy and with time we can learn to better control our emotions and our splitting episodes.

Sadly actually gaining access to therapy with such a stigmatised misunderstood disorder, even by the professionals meant to help us makes it a challenge to say the least. So I do urge anyone who has a family member with the condition to try and do as much research on it as possible because whilst you shouldn’t have to bear the burden of their care, the system is likely to fail many of it’s patients especially when it’s underfunded or out of reach for so many mentally ill & vulnerable people.

Click here to read more about BPD and Splitting

I also want to recommend this video by MedCircle and Dr Ramani. I’ve watched a few of their videos interviewing her about Borderline Personality Disorder and I find them very informative, but more importantly she does not promote stigmatising stereotypes about the disorder. I think her videos would be very useful for those diagnosed with the disorder as well as family members, partners or friends of someone diagnosed.

SPLITTING:

Early hours

of the morning

I whispered

sweet nothings.

-

I felt

intensity;

burning forest fire.

-

Nothing could

extinguish.

-

Hours later

water drowns

fires but a cinder.

-

Splitting.

Nothing seems good.

Only tragedy fills my mind.

-

I can't see a whole,

fragmentation.

Compartmentalisation.

You can only be all good

king of my world.

-

Or the wicked witch

living to toy with my mind.

Making me feel less inside.

Worst kind.

-

Splitting

such a horrible symptom

of my disease.

Give me a release.

-

I can't take this

any longer.

I can't take my mind.

I can't take this.

-

I am dying.

So self aware,

yet I can't defeat

thoughts telling me

there is nothing left for me here.

For us here.

For us here.

The love is gone; where?

-

- Erin 11th May 2019

If you like my work you can also find me on Twitter & Ko-Fi links below:

https://ko-fi.com/erin

https://twitter.com/PoeticBeatss

All Copyrights belong to me do not use my work or re-post anywhere else without my permission.

sad poetry
6

About the Creator

Erin Shields

27. England. Poet. I have Bipolar, BPD & Anxiety. I’ve been writing since I was 18 as an outlet for my mental health.

I also have a Ko-Fi with more of my work: https://ko-fi.com/erin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.