Poets logo

Spiders At Night

A poem

By Dean F. HardyPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
21
Spiders At Night
Photo by chris liu on Unsplash

She is miles away

in this tiny

little

bed

I toss and turn

stranded,

in her web

I reach out

into the void

where true love

once lay,

and touch

the cold sheets

of deceit.

Another fool,

as the Spider

makes me her

Prey.

I turn and face

the window

and watch

as the black becomes grey..

"good morning," she says.

"good morning," I say.

*********************************************************************

This poem was written many moons ago. I figured it better to be here then shoved in a droor full of papers.

Thanks for reading. If you enjoyed it, you can check out some of my other work here:

sad poetryheartbreaklove poems
21

About the Creator

Dean F. Hardy

Writer from Dublin, Ireland.

*All work here is owned by Dean F. Hardy*

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Caroline Jane4 months ago

    Such stark loneliness. I like the fact the last line gives some hope. ❤️

  • Ah, when hearts grow cold & turn to stone, how bitter & lonely it feels even when in the company of the one who is absent.

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Oh, this is so excruciating. Excellent piece.

  • Suze Kay4 months ago

    Oh, the conclusion of this one really tightened my gut. The tension between knowledge and speech, night and day, struck deep. Very glad this poem was resurrected so I could read it.

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    Oh man. This shrank my insides. The knowledge of betrayal mixed with the continuance of the everyday made me sad to my core.

  • Excellent. I love the symbolism and metaphors. Great job!!!

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Great title, picture and beautiful words, that is what makes it all work.

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Wow such a good poem

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Oh, I love this and what you did with the spider here. ❤️ So many emotions bundled up in this web! Lovely and deep

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Really appreciated the title right from the beginning. Read through this several times and felt the words bleeding dry on the page. So much emotion in each line. Beautifully crafted :)

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    Chilling, and so deep.

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Oh, how wicked the vice. Nicely done.

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    I agree with Paul. Definitely better here.

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    Ouch. The great distance that can develop between two people sleeping right next to each other is so painful, yet a sticky situation to get out of. You conveyed that perfectly. I’m glad you published it.

  • Beth Sarahabout a year ago

    I am repeating myself but I love your writing 👏

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Definitely better out in the open, pal! Love it!

  • Nice piece ❤️

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    ohhhhh, so good!

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    I actually like spiders. Maybe even more now. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.