Poets logo

Soulful Mushroom

Soul Soothing Journey

By Marysol RamosPublished 5 months ago Updated 3 months ago 3 min read
6
Picture by Ideogram

Soul Soothing Journey

Soulful Mushroom

I found myself to be only a few inches tall; resting under the hood of a mushroom, watching giant raindrops fall before me. I felt safe. After all, I created this place. The rain fell, but dissolved right into the dirt, only leaving behind its rejuvenating aroma. Each breath I took was gracefully savored, pouring out the pain of my soul and pulling in a revival from the earth. I kindly asked the rain to stop — and so it did. I placed my hand on the stem of the mushroom and thanked it for allowing me to enjoy the rain without being caught in it. I felt its vibration respond as a comforting friend saying, “it was my pleasure.” I admired the colors it displayed; a repetitive waterfall of orange, green, and blue that rippled down the mushroom, disappearing into the dirt. I walked from under the mushroom and felt myself grow.

My body adjusted in height to the environment it moved into. I was now walking a bit taller than the brilliant green grass that surrounded me. Its scent created a refreshing touch to my soul. My fingers gently caressed the grass as I slowly made my way to the creek ahead. Each step adding to my growth. The dirt beneath my feet somehow made me feel human, more of an unrealistic human. I was free, I was safe, I was alive. I’ve never felt this way at home.

I reached the creek, and my heart felt a jolt of joy. The sound of the flowing water somehow trickled through my veins. I cupped my hands and placed it under the water to fill them with the soothing most naturalistic liquid I could ever consume. I sipped from my hands and felt a revival find its way through my entire being. I was now tall enough to step into the water and it reached just beneath my ankles. I walked in and then knelt onto the rocky ground. I, once again, cupped my hands to fill them with water; this time to pour it onto my face and wash away all the pain that bled through.

I leaned back into the creek and stretched my legs out as if getting comfortable in a bed. My hands connected under my head creating an elevation high enough to prevent water from flowing into my ears. The water caressed my hair, down my shoulders, my body, and passing down my feet. I was safe; nothing could hurt me, and nothing could contain me. It was as if I was non-existent, yet fully existent simultaneously.

I looked up toward the sky and couldn’t help but laugh at the thought of the clouds wanting my attention. Like children at play, they decided to put on a show for me. The clouds created patterns of all sorts; changing to various colors, passing lightning back and forth, and converting into animals such as dogs, elephants, and even an adorable barn owl. My heart, mind, body, and soul were all pleasantly well rested. I naturally closed my eyes and fearlessly allowed myself into a deep sleep.

Within the darkness of my closed eyes and rested mind, I understood.

Home is my heart. Home is my soul. Home is being who I am without wanting to be more. Home is being at peace with where I am today — knowing that I am enough regardless of what I say. Home is who I am, home is how I live, home is knowing that I’ve shared all that I could give. Home is acceptance of freedom — freedom to just be me. Home is being who I am as the best version I can be.

I am my home, I am my being, I am the heart, mind, and soul I’ve been seeking. I am the art, the poetry, the song, I am the home I’ve searched for all along.

I am the friend, the peace of mind, the breath of fresh air that I’ve desperately tried to find. I am the breeze, the winter snow, I am the sun and the soil that helps flowers grow. I am the trees that provide oxygen and fruits, I am the waters that provide rejuvenating truth. I am who I need to be for today in time; never to be more as being more is a limited state of mind. Today I’m what I need to be and tomorrow I’ll be different. I’m enough each day for what the day calls for - in the uniqueness of my existence. Home is my heart. Home is my soul. Home is being who I am without wanting to be more.

nature poetrysurreal poetryMental Healthinspirationalart
6

About the Creator

Marysol Ramos

From Soul Soothing to Mysteries and Thrills. Take a few journeys with me through short stories that will either liven your soul or consume it with curiosity. Either way your mind takes a ride and your emotions are brought to life.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Annie Edwards 4 months ago

    This is absolutely beautiful! I love how well you so vividly painted the narrative of a wonderland within yourself . The message was powerful and well received 💜

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.