Poets logo

New Name, New Me

Poetry

By KelPublished about a month ago 1 min read
New Name, New Me
Photo by Davide Valerio on Unsplash

Lately I've felt like a ghost in my own skin,

A stranger in the mirror, a whisper in the din.

My name feels heavy, like a coat that's too tight,

I wear it out of habit, but it doesn't feel right.

I've wandered through memories, looking for clues,

In faces and places, in old, worn-out shoes.

But the more I search, the less I find,

A puzzle with pieces that don't seem to align.

I hear my name called, but it echoes hollow,

A shadow of who I was, not who I follow.

The letters feel foreign, like a song off-key,

A tune that once fit but now doesn't fit me.

So I've decided to change it, to start anew,

To find a name that fits, one that feels true.

I'll cast off the old, let it drift away,

Embrace a new self, let it light the way.

Maybe I'll choose something wild and free,

A name that whispers of the sea.

Or perhaps something gentle, soft as a sigh,

A name that feels like a lullaby.

It's not just a name, but a rebirth, a claim,

To a life that's mine, untamed, unchained.

I'll wear it proudly, let it set me free,

A fresh start, a new chapter for me.

Stream of ConsciousnessMental Healthinspirational

About the Creator

Kel

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Sasi Kalaabout a month ago

    Lovely poem!

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a month ago

    Love to you, Kel...!!! Great work as always!!!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    This was extremely powerful! Loved your poem!

KelWritten by Kel

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.