Poets logo

Magic Carpet Ride

Soul Soothing Journey

By Marysol RamosPublished 5 months ago Updated 3 months ago 3 min read
1
Picture by Ideogram

Soul Soothing Journey

Magic Carpet Ride

It felt like a magic carpet ride; this magic, though, seemed more authentic. There were no genies, wands, or magic spells. Instead, it was the power of Mother Nature reconnecting with me as if I were a long-lost child.

In my escape, she nurtured my soul with a purifying love. I found myself at equal size of a butterfly that paired its presence with mine. An orange, black-striped butterfly flew next to me while I rode a crisp, burnt orange leaf from the tip top of a quaking aspen tree down toward the ground. I held the edges of the leaf while it gently worked its way to landing. The wind was very kind, providing a steady pace for a secure arrival.

With the butterfly gliding at my speed, it gave me the impression that it was sent by Mother Earth to communicate with me; I knew I was being cared for. With ease, I landed on the ground amongst other dark shaded leaves. Countless small magic carpets, each one with a butterfly and its own passenger to care for, covered the ground of the forest; more to come from the trees surrounding. Knowing I was not alone, created alleviation to my soul.

I sat at the edge of the leaf to lean forward and dig my fingers into the dirt. I grabbed handfuls of the soil and massaged it through my fingers while releasing it back to where it belongs. My body gradually felt as if my soul was being set free; seeming to be Mother Nature’s way of telling me I was home.

The chill wind, ever so lightly began its journey once again, creating an awakening shiver on every inch of my skin. I noticed the front of the leaf pushing backward as if nudging me to get back on. Once I did, the wind picked up, lifting us from the ground. This time the wind designed a rollercoaster of a ride; creating a laughter from the pit of my stomach and a joy in the mist of my heart.

I was brought to a shallow creek where the leaf landed on the water as if it were a raft. Ahead, I noticed the sun steadily moving its way down and slowly taking its light with it. I couldn’t be upset with the sun — if I had a light such as that one, I’d take it everywhere with me as well.

To the left of the river were trees filled with autumn leaves. To the right, a quiet town that seemed to have been made specifically for this season of revival. The old is gone, the new has come; Autumn being the representation of Mother Nature providing this wisdom to us.

Flowing down the creek, as the earth dimmed its skies, I took the pleasure of soaking-in the sight before me. Dirt roads and cabins, pumpkins, logs, and hay, lanterns and wooden rocking chairs with throw blankets and tiny pillows. There were wooden boards with words like “welcome” or “family” written across them; decorated with paintings of horses, barn owls, and scarecrows. I wanted nothing more than to become a part of everything I saw.

The wind brushed against my body as if asking me to rest on the leaf and to trust its care for me; asking me to let go of the need to know and the desire to be in control. Just then, a soft, rich shade of orange leaf covered my body like a blanket. Whispering to my soul, I felt Mother Nature telling me that I was her greatest creation — me, and all those other curious passengers I came across. I closed my eyes, released my need of control and knowing, only to be gifted with words of affirmation by the Goddess of Earth.

“You are the stars, and you are the moon; what you’ve seen today is a representation of you. You are the wind, you are the creek, you are everything that you seek. You are the lantern, you are the leaf, you are the peace and the calm relief. You are the lovely sunset, and the lively sunrise, you are the light, and the dark skies. You are strength, you are harmony, you are valued by God and Me. You are seen, you’re not to blame, for the mistakes or the pain. You don’t need to be fixed, you don’t need to be worked on, you are enough, you are the light of the glorious sun. You are love, you are forgiveness, you are everything within Us. The gentleness that you feel, the beauty that you see, your desire to be a part of it all, that’s You to God and Me.”

surreal poetrynature poetryMental Healthinspirational
1

About the Creator

Marysol Ramos

From Soul Soothing to Mysteries and Thrills. Take a few journeys with me through short stories that will either liven your soul or consume it with curiosity. Either way your mind takes a ride and your emotions are brought to life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test5 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Love it!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.